Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Stuck in Manual Mode

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by livelongdienever, Apr 15, 2015.

  1. livelongdienever

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey guys I have a question, I'm looking at drones right now and I've found one I'd like to buy but the seller says the drone only flies in manual mode. What would cause something like this? How would you fix it? I've seen some guides on plugging the Phantom into a computer and fixing the settings but is there a way to fix this manual mode problem? He says it doesn't connect to all the satellites.

    Thanks everyone!
     
  2. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL

    Could be two things going on here-
    -if it won't change out of Manual it could be a defective S1 switch where is has broken internally and is stuck in the manual mode position. Connection to the computer with the driver and Assistant software can diagnose this. A new switch is just a few $ US.

    -the comment about not getting all the satellites may indicate a broken or damaged GPS antenna or even the entire 'puck' or module. In this case you can still fly in Atti. mode which is very different form Manual in that you still have the stability automatically maintained but will drift with wind and inertia from movement. A new GPS module costs about $160 US.
     
  3. livelongdienever

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you for the advice I really appreciate it. I'm still trying to gain a better understanding of things. I hope it's an easy fix. I'm going to(hopefully) be test flying it this weekend. Do you have any tips on what I should look out for? Also would crashing cause something like the GPS or S1 Switch to brake?

    On a different note, what are the different fly modes?
     
  4. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Well I gave you two common examples of what has been know to fail frequently and YES a crash can easily damage the GPS antenna.

    There's way too much you need to learn for me to begin to tell you.

    Google and YouTube will be much better for you to use for research. You really need to do your homework before flying.
     
  5. livelongdienever

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'll have to examine the Phantom carefully before I move forward with it. I've been researching and reading on up them before I actually try one. I need to learn more about the different flight modes.
     
  6. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Please do.
     
  7. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Are you talking about a Phantom which only flies in manual, or something without a Flight Controller?
     
  8. livelongdienever

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    From what it sounds like, a phantom that only flies in manual.
     
  9. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    I think the seller is possibly confusing manual mode with ATTI mode. You should confirm with him.
     
  10. livelongdienever

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry for the newbie questions but what's the difference between the two?
     
  11. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
  12. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    In ATTI mode, the quad will stay level by itself, as well as maintain its heading. It just won't maintain its position (GPS is needed for that). In manual mode, the quad will not do anything by itself. You must react to even keep it level.
     
  13. livelongdienever

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Drone is a Phantom 2, with an H3-3D gimbal attached. I've uploaded some pictures.
     

    Attached Files:

    IflyinWY likes this.
  14. livelongdienever

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    I believe those modes can be changed by connecting the Phantom to a computer, correct?
     
  15. landmannnn

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Coventry and Limoges
    No, there's a switch on the remote. How much do they want for it? People on here will be able advise you whether it is worth buying.
     
  16. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    The computer and assistant software allows the assigning of the lowermost position of S1 to be be Fail-safe or Manual after enabling Naza mode.
     
  17. livelongdienever

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    He was selling it for $500. It turns out somebody bought it while I was thinking about it.