Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Structural Mapping?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by BigAl07, Jun 16, 2016.

  1. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3,295
    Likes Received:
    1,815
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    Is anyone aware of the ability for a P3A/P to do structural/vertical mapping? I've been mapping terrain for months now but I am looking for a solution that allows me to do vertical mapping with my P3P. For instance a cell tower. Have the aircraft orbit around the structure taking pictures each step of the way then rising slightly only to start a new orbit/picture taking.

    Has anyone seen this yet with a P3 platform?
     
  2. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I had someone contact me who is in the process of creating the software now. Other then that one it's all that I'm familiar with. I'm sure someone else may already have something that is just not on the the market yet.
     
    BigAl07 likes this.
  3. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3,295
    Likes Received:
    1,815
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    That's good information Frank. Please keep us updated and if they need any "testers" I have credentials and am willing to help.
     
  4. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Actually I'm not real happy with that operation. They asked that I spend some time with contributing to a cause in which I did that was either very beneficial, or not worth their time. Either way after submitting to them, there was no follow up on their end. Not many like it when their contributions go unrecognized.
     
    BigAl07 likes this.
  5. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6,259
    Likes Received:
    2,080
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Vertical accuracies are not really good. We might need a good stitching software and small steps every time.

    I like the way drone needs are growing.
     
  6. jimmybonsaville

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    7
    Use poi mode and circle your subject. I usually do 5 different altitude passes and set time-lapse every 5s. I really wish dji would lower the options to say 1-3 s the overlap would be much better.
     
  7. Charlie_mulholl

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    10
    With the ground station pro app you can do that automatically I think


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. Robert Smith jr

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hi, I haven't been able to fly any GS Pro missions yet, but according to the videos (search YouTube), it looks like it is possible.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  9. Great_Lakes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    South Eastern Michigan
    What is the objective? A topographical, or i.e. a 3D map? Just curious.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Structural Mapping Forum Date
Structural cracks...need update Pro/Adv Discussion Mar 31, 2016
structural engineer General Discussion May 5, 2013
3D Mapping for Spark ? DJI Spark Discussion Jun 20, 2017
Free apps for mapping Phantom 4 Discussion Jun 5, 2017
Ndvi mapping altitude four golf course General Discussion May 31, 2017