Strategy to Grading P4P Clips

Reaction score
I am using Premier Pro CC 2017 to grade my P4P video clips obtained with Color = dLog and Scene set to -2,-2,-2 . I am relatively new to grading video but experienced when it comes to using Photoshop in adjusting raw files from Canon 5D Mark III.

A number of graders on this forum have written that all they really require is Lumetri Color to grade their video clips. I do not understand why individuals are using this strategy. Please help me understand where I going wrong with the following strategy (BTW I use the Lumerti meter to make certain I am not clipping highlights and shadows):
  • Add a level effect. Adjust white and black points. Also, adjust the gamma to brighten or darken the clip.
  • Add a curves effect (not certain why they obsoleted this effect in 2017). Change the curve to an "S" to bring back a little contrast.
  • Add an Unsharp mask effect.
  • Now add the Lumetri Color effect to increase saturation and make other fine adjustment to get the desired look and possibly adjust the color.
All the while I am looking at various locations in the clip to make certain I am not clipping the highlights and shadows. If I start to clip go back and adjust level and curves.

So folks help me out. What is wrong with this approach?

Donald Barar

I thought all of these settings you are doing are referring to the Lumetri Color Pallette Don. I am new to Premier Pro in the last two months myself. But I use the meter to check clipping as well. And then I am just going through all the normal exposure settings like setting a traditional Raw file from stills in Adobe Raw.

I thought all of these settings you are doing are referring to the Lumetri Color Pallette Don. I am new to Premier Pro in the last two months myself. But I use the meter to check clipping as well. And then I am just going through all the normal exposure settings like setting a traditional Raw file from stills in Adobe Raw.
Hi K,