Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Strange P3A gps condition.

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by cybervet, May 15, 2016.

  1. cybervet

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Today when I was flying the P3A at 88 meters directly above me I got a notification "safe to fly(no gps)" while I had locked to 13 sats. Warning flashed 2-3 times for a couple of seconds and then the rest of the flight went without incident. During the whole time I had full rc signal and video signal and from 10 to 14 satellites locked.
    K index was 3 today.
    Any ideas will be greatlly appreciated.
    Tassos
     
  2. BDOG

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    San Jose Ca and Lake Tahoe NV
    Antennas need to be postitioned in the flat (horizontal to the controller) and outward position when the drone is directly above one for best possible signal . Its in the manual.
     
  3. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I am guessing your sat. strength dip down to 3 bars. See it happen to me before. Mine never appeared to have left gps mode tho.
     
  4. cybervet

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    BDOG Well i did not had a lost signal warning......
     
    #4 cybervet, May 15, 2016
    Last edited: May 15, 2016
  5. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Nope. No lost signal. Don't know why it happened. Just happen to have screen capture. Give me a sec.
     
  6. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  7. cybervet

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I will check , I was recording flight with AZ screen.......
     
  8. cybervet

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeap exactly the same thing, 13 sats but bars went down to 3......... What is this?
     
  9. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I think BDOG is right. I was over the house next door when it happened. So very close to overhead. Odd part is both rc and HD signals are full.
     
  10. cybervet

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can't be right, we are talking about gps, has nothing to do with rc signal.... I never lost video or RC for a sec, I was just flying like ATTI and not gps......
     
  11. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    We are saying the same thing. RC and HD signal 5 bars. The times I have noticed this are when I am coming back home, up high. 200ft or so.
    Sometimes I don't notice until after as when it is that close I am looking directly at the P3 for landing. Not at the screen.
    It has never made any difference to the control of the AC.
     
  12. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Were you standing right next to something big. Like a house when this happened? In my case I might have been.
     
  13. cybervet

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's like the gps see the sats but looses lock momentarily. That can't be right!
     
  14. cybervet

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    nope...