Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Strange led indicators

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by pilsburypie, Aug 14, 2014.

  1. pilsburypie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    I tried to fly my phantom 2 today and noticed some strange Led indicators I've not seen before and can't seem to find the meaning for.

    When starting up the normal sequence was observed. The indicators were flashing green and a few red as it looked for GPS then when it got home lock the rapid flashing greens were followed by an equal amount of rapid flashing red. When it got plenty of satellites the usual slow flashing single green was observed followed by a set of fast flashing red every 3 single flashing greens. It seemed to fly ok but I aborted after a minute as I was unsure what it meant.
     
  2. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    did you recently switch your flight computer to Naza mode?
    does this page help? http://wiki.dji.com/en/index.php/Phanto ... escription

    If you aren't in Naza mode it sounds like maybe you're getting the "IMU abnormal data" error... maybe try a calibration in the assistant software?
     
  3. TodayTrader

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you upgrade firmware above 3.2 and more important, are you near an airport. I have the same thing as I live near a large military base.
     
  4. pilsburypie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ha..... I'm on 3.6 and rather near a large airport. Although intending to fly very low and close you may have hit the jackpot. I shall do an experiment this evening flying well away and then have another check tomorrow.

    Is this just an indicator or will flying be different?
     
  5. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    are you familiar with how the Phantom acts in restricted zones? basically it will have a forced height limit if you're within that pre-set range limit from the airport. that should be the only way it would fly different... not letting you go above a certain height.. not any change to stick response
     
  6. pilsburypie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Cheers mate - I tend to only fly a few 10's of meters up anyway.... Thanks for the response.
     
  7. MrC

    MrC

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Surrey. UK
  8. pilsburypie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Cheers MrC - looks like I was in the outer 5 mile zone.