Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Strange gps lost warning

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Tommy1980, Feb 26, 2016.

  1. Tommy1980

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    hi everyone,

    This morning i tried for the first time my new shield k1 with my phantom 3 advanced. I have the marshmallow 6.1 android version and i know it has compass calibration problems, so before takin off i turned it on and calibrated with field compass. Still the map wasn't rotating exactly as i was moving the controller as it usually does with my iphone 6, anyway...
    After 5 minutes ( all pre flight checks done), The drone was 400 mt far from me, Signal strenght was full all and 17 satellites were locked on.
    Then for appearently no reasons it switched to atti mode, and the no gps warning flashed on the screen.
    I immeditly took it back to me and landed, as i don't like to fly out of sight in atti mode..
    Do you think the tablet gps/compass bad calibration could have been the cause? In case a downgrade to the previois firmware of the tablet, would be the only solution as someone says this fix the compss malfunctioning problem.
    Could be something else?
    I'd like to avoid things like this, especially cause sometimes i fly 3/4 km far and it's not so great to fly back in atti mode only watchin at the screen..
    Thanks for your help
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    Please upload your flight log here and post a link so we can take a look.
     
  3. Tommy1980

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    DJI Phantom 3 Log Viewer - Phantom Help


    It's strange, from the flight log appearently the bird never lost gps signal and it never switched to atti mode...but that 's what the app on thr tablet was telling me..
    So it has been a tablet issue? Probably depending on some compass\gps failure\interference?
     
    #3 Tommy1980, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
  4. Tommy1980

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
  5. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Sounds like the same thing that has been reported multiple times since mid January around when the new app was released. Here are a couple of the threads that seem to be similar to what you experienced. Says no GPS, but still acts like it has GPS. As far as I know, no root cause has been determined.

    15 GPS satellites, but GPS repeatedly drops

    Non gps mode moments + log

    "Safe to fly - Non GPS"

    Safe to fly NO GPS problem
     
    #5 Oso, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
    WetDog likes this.
  6. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    We have been noticing this issue since DJI GO App 2.50 was released
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    Your logs look good. Did your Phantom ever appear to be flying in ATTI?
     
  8. SteUk

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    Mine did the same yesterday i had 18 sats and it switched to atti with yellow lights flashing i returned and landed. Did imu calibration today and flew 1 battery different location all fine.
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    SteUk, can you upload your log here and post a link so we can take a look?
     
  10. SteUk

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    Just on my way out to a appointment but will when i get back how do i do it?
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    Click my link above. You'll find instructions there.
     
  12. henick

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    61
    Apparently, according to what I've read the craft still acts just like it is in gps mode. My response to this would be a wind check. Flip to atti, watch drift for a few seconds and flip back to gps mode. If function is not returned use your own judgement based on your skill level.

    Looks like a bug in the newest release of the android go app.
     
  13. RoyB

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Dartmouth, Massachusetts
    Is this ONLY happening with Android and not Mac?
     
  14. henick

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    61
    Anything I've read supports that. Not sure though.
     
  15. SteUk

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
  16. Tommy1980

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    It never happened with my iphone, first time has been the first time with the shield k1..
    And yea, apperantly it's only a warning from the app cause from the log i can see everything was fine amd the phantom never lost contact with satellites! Dji go was flashing "atti mode".
     
  17. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    I believe your log is showing a compass error when it shows "Yaw Error" at the 4:58 mark. That's where the mode switched to ATTI. Check your compass mod in the DJI GO app. It should be somewhere between 1500-1600.
     
    SteUk likes this.
  18. SteUk

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok thanks i did check it before take off and i'm sure it was ok. I did a cold imu calibration today and a compass cal when i got to were i was flying and it flew nice. In go app its showing battery needs update dji updated my p3p to 1.5 so both my batteries got updated but i downgraded to 1.4 is it safe to fly with the fw version on my batteries? Thanks Ste
     
  19. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    I think you'll be fine as long as you're not running 1.5 on your Phantom. I'm not aware of any issues when using 1.4 along with batteries that have a newer firmware installed on them.
     
    SteUk likes this.
  20. SteUk

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok thanks. What would you have done in the situation i was in when it switched to Atti?