Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Strange fact alert

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tricky, Jan 1, 2016.

  1. Tricky

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Westchester County, New York
    As some of you remember from past pleas for help, with regard to accessing this forum when I am not connected to WiFi, well, I'm away in Caribbean right now, not on WiFi, and I am easily connected to forum and typing away.

    So strange. At home in new york, if I'm not on WiFi, I can't use this app at all, "failed to connect to server, contact forum administrator"

    Here in most beautiful St Thomas...no WiFi, no problem...maybe it's a sign...8 should move down here
     
  2. stuartbp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    16
    Same problem in Michigan. Can't use cellular data to connect to app. Wifi is fine. I've brought it up in three threads I believe and none of the admins have offered any solutions.
     
  3. 480sparky

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    120
    Maybe it's a sign for you to stay in St. Thomas. :rolleyes:
     
  4. GaDrone

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    North,GA
    If you are using an IOS device have you tired resetting the network settings ? Settings - General - Reset - Reset Network settings. If you haven't tried that.
     
  5. stuartbp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    16
    Use a Galaxy S6. Tried everything. Its not an isolated problem. Several people in the forum have mentioned it.
     
  6. GaDrone

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    North,GA
    Have you tried using a different browser to see if that works ?
     
  7. stuartbp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    16
    Won't work in a browser or app when on cellular data.
     
  8. Volitant_Soul

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    What's odd is I noticed I wasn't able to connect using the app on my Sprint Note 5, but was working fine before I switched from Verizon. I was using a note 3 with vzw not sure if it has anything to do without connection timing out but it is very odd indeed.
     
  9. stuartbp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    16
    I would guess it has something to do with Sprint service. I use Sprint also.
     
  10. Volitant_Soul

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah, tried it on my work phone (att) and it works. Two things I really dont like about sprint is the fact that you cant be on the phone and use data at the same time and the fact that this pp app doesn't work on the network.
     
  11. Daytona

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Port Orange
    With an Android device, go to the advanced settings within WiFi and check the option to use Cellular Data on WiFi. But be warned some devices will then switch off the "bad" or no internet data available WiFi and go LTE or 4G.
     
  12. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    Hmmm on AT&T iPhone 6 - and have never had an issue getting to forum on wifi or cellular... I have noticed a few times lately where the forum was slow to load on my computer
     
  13. Formstone

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    40
    No issues so far on TMO cell devices, Iphone6, 6plus and iPad mini3 all cell or wifi.

    @Buckaye - yes, I have seen some pages time out the last few days too. Figure it's just normal hosted server overlaodfor the holidays.
     
  14. stuartbp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    16

    I don't see how this would have any effect while trying to use cell data where no wifi is available. Wifi isn't the problem. It's cell data that won't access the forum when I don't have wifi.
     
  15. Regan9172

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Huh...when using the dji go app, does it use/need data?
    I have a galaxy s4 with limited amount of date (not unlimited)

    Cheers
     
  16. stuartbp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    16
    We are talking about this forum app. Not the GO app. The GO app uses data for maps if it has a data connection, but it does not need a data connection.
     
  17. Regan9172

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh ok im reading up on many things at the minute..phantom..and car stuff
    So not taking things in 100%
    Happy days thanks