Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Strange behavior after firmware upgrade - H3-2D

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by dbot3000, Jan 18, 2015.

  1. dbot3000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, California
    After a total firmware upgrade (all components), the gimbal now responds differently to input from the X1 controller. It no longer moves gradually with lever movements. Even though I'm moving the stick slowly, the gimbal jerks to either the forward or down position and doesn't allow me to move it to positions in between. And once it reaches either position, it tends to not fully reach the end of its travel and may twitch a bit or slowly oscillate for a short time (this is the case mostly with the down-facing position). It seems to be working fine in terms of stability control but it's not responding correctly to manual input from the X1. I calibrated the RC sticks and the X1 lever after the firmware upgrades. The gimbal settings are all defaulted (Tilt: 50, Horizontal limit: 0, Vertical limit: 0, FPV Mode not checked).

    Any ideas? It had been working just fine until I updated all of the firmware.

    As reported by Phantom 2 Assistant v3.6:
    - Main controller: 3.08
    - GPS: 6.0.1.4
    - Receiver-Phantom 2: 1.0.0.0
    - P330CB: 1.0.2.10
    - Gimbal CMU: 1.0
    - Gimbal IMU: 1.8
    - Battery: 2.6.0.0

    Thanks.
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    You didn't mention if you calibrated X1 in the assistant software. Did you?? While in the assistant software check if X1 is normal or reversed. Another thing is you may not be making full contact with the control pot inside the RC controller.
     
  3. MrC

    MrC

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Surrey. UK
    Calibrate the remote sticks/x1 in the RC Assistant first. (with remote connected to pc)
    Calibrate sticks/x1 again in Phantom Assistant (with phantom connected to pc)

    Did you upgrade to remote control firmware? There is a new RC Assistant and firmware - Don't do this yet unless nothing else helps.
     
  4. dbot3000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, California
    Thanks guys. What seemed to do the trick is running the X1 through its full range of motion during stick calibration in the RC Assistant software, then recalibrating the sticks and the X1 in the Phantom 2 Assistant software. The RC Assistant software says to use the Phantom Assistant software to calibrate the X1 but running it through its motions in the RC software seemed to help.

    Thanks again.
     
  5. MrC

    MrC

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Surrey. UK
    Yep, even though it looks like you cant calibrate x1 in the rc software, you can, and must first.

    Glad you got it sorted.