Straight to phantom or toy first?

Reaction score
I am considering a P3standard or advanced at the moment, I have lots of experience with RC cars, should I buy a cheap toy drone first of with care should I be ok with the phantom straight off?

you will be good with phantom first easy to fly just take your time and you shouldn't have any problems

Buying a "training" quadcopter will help you get your orientations down. also they take a beating, well the hubsan x4 I got took a beating the first hour of flight time I had with it. but after getting use to flying a quad, going to the phantom was easy. A smaller quad is twitchy and you learn to manage those micro adjustment with a small quad. so when you go up to a phantom, its easy to fly it.

Reactions: mmtphoto
Thanks guys. Have done lots with Tamiya cars over the years just never done nothing of the ground!!
Thinking of the P3A just trying to justify the cost...... And frightened of crashing it!

A Phantom is easy to fly (and expensive when crashed). If you take the time to read the manual, learn how it works, practice, etc., then you should be fine with jumping right to a Phantom.

should I buy a cheap toy drone first
Phantoms are far easier to fly than any cheap toy drone. And, no cheap toy drone has the same features as a Phantom. No matter what you decide to start with, you're going to have a lot of learning to do when you buy your first Phantom.

My suggestion is to get both a Phantom and a micro. Micros are cheap. The experience that you gain from flying a micro quad without any GPS or other bells and whistles will help you immensely. Then when your Phantom kicks into atti mode for seemingly no reason you aren't panicking, you're just flying. Micro quads will make you a more confident pilot.