Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Storm FPV Transmitter Question, Help?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by drewtx, Feb 7, 2014.

  1. drewtx

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is the transmitter from the storm all in one deluxe package. can someone that has purchased this item please let me know how you have yours setup?

    will this work sideways like this?

    [​IMG]

    if I put it straight, it overhangs just enough to mess up taking the battery in and out.

    [​IMG]

    thank you!

    drew
     
  2. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Out the back is better. Look how close your vTX antenna is to your 2.4 RX. That will decrease the effectiveness of both. And on the other side you have the compass which you really don't want to be too close to either. So, out the back is best. Use some velcro or thick double sided tape to keep it from pressing against the battery.
     
  3. drewtx

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you ian. i kind of figured it was best out the back and i didn't even think about adding a spacer of some sort.

    thanks again.

    drew
     
  4. drewtx

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never finished connecting the transmitter yesterday. got sidetracked.

    I was wondering, is it okay to put it on the left or right like this with a little bit hanging over? this transmitter is awkward. when plugged in, it wont go under the gimbal in the center. and you cant get the battery out. I was planning on adding the iosd mini as soon as it arrives. so, is it okay to just stick this on the left or right and fly until the mini gets here?

    thanks for any advice, help. I really appreciate it.

    drew

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. drewtx

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    never mind. thanks. its on. works perfect. going for a test fly.

    thanks all.

    drew
     
  6. bernardb

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avon Indiana
    I've got mine mounted like this.

    No problems so far....
     

    Attached Files:

  7. drewtx

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool. thanks bernardb. i was going to do that at first. i put it long ways on the right side instead. battery goes in an out no problems. i just added 2 layers of 3m tape.

    how do you plug your camera in? im not seeing the plug.

    also, can you or someone help me with a camera glitch question im having now? i went out for a test flight when i got it all hooked up. everything worked perfect as far as flying and all that. no problems whatsoever. start up was perfect from gps, camera to phantom.

    i got it up about 10 feet or so and the gimbal went limp. before i could land, it reset and did just fine. ran the battery down. put in new battery. same thing. perfect start up. then the gimbal went limp but it stayed limp longer. maybe 30 or so seconds. then reset.

    any idea?

    thank you

    drew
     
  8. drewtx

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    never mind. I figured this one out too.

    im kind of impressed with my purchase. good color on the screen. only two wires to solder. camera and gimbal still work like they are supposed too. I noticed my battery life now is 15 minutes. im fine with that. I got three really good videos today. all of them are 15-17 minutes long. once I learn how to edit them, ill post them.

    it was a great day to fly and im happy with my p2 and new fpv setup. that is all.

    drew
     
  9. CJ31

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA
    What range are you guys getting with the helipal deluxe package? And did you upgrade any antennas?
     
  10. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    I have this package. When I'm in line of sight, I'm getting just around 900ft before it starts to get staticky. I have yet to get to a location where I can fly to where I'm comfortable losing fpv to see if I can still control it.

    I'm also curious about upgrading all the antennas. I keep searching because I know the answer has had to have been covered in these pages somewhere but they're such common keywords, I'm getting everything but what I'm looking for.

    Would really like to know if it's worth it to get spironets or bluebeams. How much would it improve FPV range as well as control range for the P2 . . .
     
  11. Hiway

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am lurking with the same question... mainly because I cannot seem to remove the vtx antenna- hoping someone else will chime in with a make it or break it story :eek: :oops:
     
  12. CJ31

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA
    900ft doesn't seem like it's that far. Other setups I see claim 500-800M but who knows. Any feedback on antennas? I see some cheap antennas on Amazon, but not sure if they are the right type and would help. I really would rather not have to spend another $80+ on antennas.

    http://www.amazon.com/NEEWER®-Circu...id=1392905563&sr=8-1&keywords=5.8ghz+antennas

    http://www.amazon.com/Super-Power-S...id=1392905533&sr=8-6&keywords=5.8ghz+antennas

    http://www.amazon.com/NEEWER®-Circu...F8&qid=1392905746&sr=8-3&keywords=fpv+antenna
     
  13. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    I need to get out to a bigger area where I can test better. I've only been out a few times and each time I immediately turned it around when it started to get static for more than a few seconds. Still waiting to hear more about the antennas too. I don't mind making the investment if I know it will increase range.