Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Storm All-in-One FPV Combo (Deluxe)?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by FASTFJR, Jan 18, 2014.

  1. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Is this FPV plug and play with the Phantom 2? All the wires they should have plugs on the end......

    Thanks
     
  2. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
  3. Mr Mufakka

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Link to the product your asking about?
     
  4. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
  5. SARC

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Not quite plug and play but it's easy.

    There are 4 wires coming out of the Phantom that do not have plugs on them. You need to solder to them. 2 wires provide power for the transmitter. 2 provide the video output from the GoPro.

    Wiring colours

    Phantom -----------------------------------FPV Tx
    Yellow (Video Signal) --------------------Yellow
    Brown next to it (Video Ground) -------Black Wire on the same connector as the yellow wire above
    Red (11V power) -------------------------Red
    Brown next to it (Power Ground) -------Black wire on the same connector as the red wire above

    If you are not going to want on screen display on your FPV then you connect the 4 wires directly to the transmitter and you are done.

    Watch this video.... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r8b3Vd8q3VI to get a general idea. For the P2 set up with the Zenmuse gimbal you do not need to connect to the go pro using the supplied plug, you just use the video signal which is on the other 2 wires coming out of the phantom. It would work connecting as shown directly to the gopro but I think its easier on the gimbal if there are no cables constraining the gopro. I guess this is why they configured the zenmuse mount to take the gopro signal out of the camera using the rear connector then bring it back out of the phantom body on the 2 wires for FPV

    If you want the iOSD, you need to connect the gopro video signal wires from the phantom to the iOSD, then connect a further 2 wires from the iOSD to the transmitter. I would recommend buying and installing the iOSD at the same time because then you don't need to wire then rewire everything

    I have that exact kit plus the iOSD on my P2 and its great
     
  6. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Excellent! Thanks, I do plan have the iOSD
     
  7. SARC

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ok, so the yellow and brown wires from the Phantom go to the VIDEO IN connections on the iOSD, then another set of yellow and brown wires will go from the VIDEO OUT of the iOSD to the FPV transmitter. Basically all the iOSD does is pass the video signal through but it superimposes the graphics for the on screen display as it goes through
     
  8. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    I'm wondering if its possible to make the complete system plug and play instead of soldering the wires? Their might be times when I just want to "fly" and won't need any of the FPV attached. Has anyone done it?
     
  9. SARC

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    You could solder connectors on to the wires instead..... there is at least 1 connector that you can cut off the gorpo cable and reuse that
     
  10. phantomnz

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Hey SARC, my FPV came with a green and white wire split with 2 ends that plug into the FPV transmitter plug. I soldered the green and white cables to the Phantom, so in theory you can unplug the FPV and tuck the hanging wires away somewhere.
     
  11. zoochase

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I left all my wires long when soldered and ran them all into the P2.
    [​IMG]
    I just unplug the power from the FPV transmitter when I don't want to use it.
     
  12. Architeuthis

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    What sort of range are you getting with this setup? I see you are using the stock antennae. What made you decide to go with this system? There are so many choices I am overwhelmed. Thanks for your input.
     
  13. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    Expensive...

    Here is a very cheap FPV setup, you can get 1km+ range with this setup, its a nice start to FPV.
    And if you use a directional antenna on the receiver you could go above 2km.

    Boscam TS351: http://j.mp/1iwjZzR
    Boscam TS353 400mw: http://j.mp/1gJ6t7s
    Boscam receiver RC305 5.8Ghz: http://j.mp/1cRoJjy

    RC305 + TS353 combo: http://j.mp/1iuhzQ6

    Antennas (circular polarized)
    cloverleaf antenna to rx: http://j.mp/1arIRFU
    Cloverleaf antenna to tx: http://j.mp/1dG8kbW

    7" LCD: http://j.mp/1d7kwsr
    Boscam 7" RX-LCD5802 5.8GHz Diversity Receiver: http://j.mp/1lZuham

    Just to show how well this setup works here is a video i found on youtube (4.6 km on minute 8:14), in the description is the setup used, and you can read RC305 and TS351, just like this setup:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7pkYzuNXp_c
     
  14. xplorer

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    I bought the Storm all-in-one Deluxe on the recommendation of a friend and have been VERY happy with it.
    You can use some simple connectors to unplug everything on your phantom to fly without camera. Just use self-adhesive Velcro for the transmitter. If you can do some very simple soldering, you are good to go.
    If you do not want to solder, then get the DJI connector board and cables, but I would go for avoiding that if possible.

    I must say though that I am now seriously considering getting FPV goggles for a more immersive experience instead of the screen.
    Something like the FatShark DominatorHD, or the SkyZone option.

    http://www.fatshark.com/product/1741.html

    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... acker.html

    http://www.foxtechfpv.com/skyzone-fpv-g ... -1218.html
     
  15. soup@LIAstudios.com

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    how did y'all attach the transmitter to the bottom of the phantom 2?
     
  16. ladykate

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Bellevue, NE
    I used Velcro on my first one and double sided sticky on my second. Both work fine. The Velcro is my current preference, though. Also, the DJI connector board is the nuts. you can keep your P2 cables intact and work off the board - may still have to solder but it will be with the wires that came with the connector board. ($12 at B&H).

    I have that combo (Storm) on my 550 and it works great.

    I also have the TS832 on one of the P2s and it also works great.

    Basically... everything is great... ;-}

    If you are stumped about the iOSD hookup, then go to the manual. The P2 manual has all the wiring diagrams.