Stock TX range: FCC potentiometer values

Reaction score
I opened up a stock TX today and tested the resistance for the CE / FCC potentiometer. Here are the results:

phantom_tx_ohms.png

I’m no electronics expert, but I do know the higher the resistance the less power is allowed through. With that said, shouldn’t turning the pot all the way left (anti-clockwise) give the most power?

1.435 some resistance
0.888 more resistance (longer flight range reported)
0.007 hardly any resistance

Can any electronics people out there set me right / wrong?

Jaybee said:
I opened up a stock TX today and tested the resistance for the CE / FCC potentiometer. Here are the results:

phantom_tx_ohms.png

I’m no electronics expert, but I do know the higher the resistance the less power is allowed through. With that said, shouldn’t turning the pot all the way left (anti-clockwise) give the most power?

1.435 some resistance
0.888 more resistance (longer flight range reported)
0.007 hardly any resistance

Can any electronics people out there set me right / wrong?

This is on a NON vision Tx?

AlTiTuDe06 said:
This is on a NON vision Tx?

Yes. I have two identical controllers, both from Phantom 2's.

I'm no expert but the pot is most definitely linear. The readings will not be consistent due to what is downstream from the pot.

ianwood said:
I'm no expert but the pot is most definitely linear. The readings will not be consistent due to what is downstream from the pot.

Cool, cheers. It would make sense that they are linear.

Did anyone verify whether this approach working for P2?
I really need to find a way to boost my rc range, which is only around 2500 - 2800m.
I saw many people may reach 3000 to +5000m range.

You all do know that this potentiometer on the Phantom 2 - Non Vision does absolutely NOTHING right?

hook3m said:
You all do know that this potentiometer on the Phantom 2 - Non Vision does absolutely NOTHING right?