Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

STEP UP

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by dayvee10, Mar 23, 2016.

  1. dayvee10

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    11
    hi all I've been contemplating moving up from my standard to the advanced for a while now I'm generally happy with the standard but would love more range and the lightbridge that comes with the advanced, I've got the £700 sat here ready so can I ask.....is the difference between the two all that much like immediately noticeable ? thanks in advance.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    TWP723 likes this.
  2. TWP723

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Abingdon, Md.
    I think it's a pretty substantial jump forward. Having Lightbridge is the way to go. Although, I've never had a Standard, it seems the consensus here is there's a considerable difference.

    Good luck!!!
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,818
    Likes Received:
    7,536
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Other than the increased range, here are some other features I like on the Phantom 3 Advanced:

    - It uses Lightbridge (no need to connect Wi-Fi)
    - It connects to both GPS & GLONASS satellites (the P3S is GPS only)
    - The remote controller is much nicer
    - The remote controller can hold a tablet (without needing to mod it)
    - You can use screw-on ND filters (there are more screw-on filters available & they are easier to attach)

    For a full comparison of the specs, check out this page.
     
    TWP723 likes this.
  4. souldronedlyer

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    17
    Normally yes. But with p4 out already. Maybe wait and see what will become of Dji product lineup.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    gvsukids likes this.
  5. RadRich

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    96
    When I made the switch from P3S to P3A, I would sometimes forget that I needed to connect the USB to my tablet in order to see the camera view. I was so used to connecting via Wi-Fi.

    However, when you reach a minimum of 2 miles out the box and still have full signals, it's a great feeling that I never got with the P3S. ;)
     
  6. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,196
    Likes Received:
    1,581
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    just bought p3a off here getting it in 2 days all I heard is I wont like my standard after I fly new one plus its got a dbs mod on it already
     
  7. dayvee10

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks guys picking it up tomorrow


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - STEP Forum Date
P3P ESC Status Error - Steps Taken So Far. Pro/Adv Discussion Jun 19, 2017
Steps needed to transfer ownership in the DJI Go app Pro/Adv Discussion May 16, 2017
360 video on p4p, or make a future step. Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Apr 21, 2017
I Caught the Quadcopter Bug...Help me w/ the Next Step Introductions Mar 17, 2017
exsposure steps on the P4P Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Mar 15, 2017