Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Starting stick position does not work sometimes

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Discussion' started by cubdriver, Aug 25, 2014.

  1. cubdriver

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Yesterday, before the big water landing I just posted about, I was also having trouble getting the Phantom to "start". Everything was "in the green" and I would put both sticks to the bottom left or center as usual, but nothing would happen. I would pick it up, look at it, and set it back down and it would work. Very strange.

    Any ideas?

    sj
     
  2. barnyardflyer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same problem the last 2 days.

    I just keep trying and finally the motors will start.

    I hope someone comes up with an answer.
     
  3. martinlarosa

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was it normal green or very fast blinking green?
     
  4. barnyardflyer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is a normal green flash about once per second. When I move the sticks to attempt to start the motors, I get 2 rapid green flashes but no motor start until repeated tries.
     
  5. martinlarosa

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think this happened to me once, but never got it working with repeated tries.
    The solution I think was in here: http://download.dji-innovations.com/dow ... 1.7_en.pdf
    Page 13, first item in the red Flying notes: "At the first motors start, the system will check the sensors Bias and you are asked to keep the aircraft
    stationary (no need of horizontal level). If you cannot start the motors and the LED blinks Green 6 times
    quickly ( ), it means that the sensor error is too big. Please connect the assistant software, enter
    the "Tools" - > IMU calibration, carry out basic calibration"

    Hope this helps. Maybe you can start the Phantom some times because the sensor at that moment enters normal values. But the rest of the time is off limits. :?:
     
  6. barnyardflyer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to calibrate, but message came back that calibration in not necessary.
     
  7. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    Did you calibrate the sticks in the remote assistant? It's possible that it is not reading the travel limits correctly.
     
  8. martinlarosa

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know that logic indicates that you shouldn't need to calibrate. But if I were in your place I would do it anyway. It doesn't take much time.
     
  9. barnyardflyer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I clicked on basic calibration without doing the Check IMU status and all is working fine now. Motors start up normally again.

    Thanks martinlarosa
     
  10. martinlarosa

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    :D
    Awesome! Glad it worked.
    I was really worried when it happened to me. Thought it was broken.