Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard Owner - Newbie

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Magnum44, Sep 11, 2015.

  1. Magnum44

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got a P3 Standard last week - and finally took the "beginner" mode off. I am very impressed with the P3. My first "real" quadcopter - wow, it is amazing how easy to fly and take pics! Love it so far.

    One quick question (so far) for folks: out of the box, the camera was attached to the gimbal with 2 pins.. the manual says only 2 pins are needed - but there are 2 more in the box. Why wouldn't we put the other 2 pins in - to further secure the camera? Is there an advantage to only having 2 pins holding the camera to the gimbal? Are there occasions where we'd remove the camera, so having only 2 pins in is advantageous? If I don't plan on removing the camera, shouldn't it be better to put all 4 pins in?

    Thanks in advance for the responses. I'm new at this, but sure having a lot of fun!
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    12,066
    Likes Received:
    6,364
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Welcome to the forum Mag :)
    Spare's maybe .Never know when ya might lose one ;)
     
  3. Matthewd5

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    What's the biggest differences between beginner mode being disabled?
     
  4. DJi Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    7
    @Matthewd5 Distance limit

    @Magnum44 Question is.... why would you need 4 security pins? bigger chances of you crashing it before both security pins fail, those are spares
     
  5. Magnum44

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the responses - much appreciated!

    When it is out of beginner mode (which I did yesterday - how cool!) - what should maximum flight altitude be set at (currently at 0 - and it did tell me I reached maximum range yesterday). Same with return to home altitude. There is an option for "Smart Go Home" to toggle on and off. What is that? Also a toggle for "maximum distance"?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Standard Owner Newbie Forum Date
Standard Newbie Phantom 3 Standard owner !! Phantom 3 Help Apr 8, 2016
New P3 Standard Owner Introductions Monday at 7:21 AM
New Phantom 3 standard owner from Volusia county Florida Introductions Mar 27, 2017
New P3 Standard Owner from Washington State Introductions Feb 11, 2017
New P3 Standard owner from Amsterdam Introductions Jan 8, 2017