Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Stabilization mount vs Stock mount?

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by dragonash, Apr 10, 2014.

  1. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I'd like to start out by saying that I do not have a go pro (yet).
    I just use the stock FC40 camera and mount.

    While the quality is good, I do feel it tends to get a tag shaky at times.

    It's very cheap, but do you think I should this anti vibration mount and throw on the stock camera mount to it?
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BS4 ... UTF8&psc=1
     
  2. rfernandez

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    its garbage don't bother
     
  3. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    lol
    thanks for the input.

    coincidentally, i just saved it for later in amazon while I was researching prop balancing. Figured I should balance first to see if the jello gets reduced.
     
  4. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    shakeyness is due to .. wind or erratic flying
    jello is caused mostly by vibration (prop balancing helps).

    tho I've heard the vibration mounts like those do in fact help a little bit.

    but honestly even tho that mount is cheap, if you really want the most stable video, you'd want to get into a brushless gimbal,. and all of those incorporate similar balls to reduce vibrations. - they're a bit more expensive, but probably better to jump straight into one of those if you can budget it.
     
  5. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    yeah... thats a part of the hobby that my wallet isnt quite prepared for yet.
    I'll be completely honest, what kills me is the horrible delay for the gopros wifi preview. For that price, why cant it have a very slight delay like the FC40 and my ARDrone 2.0?

    I know I could buy other attachments for FPV, but again, just adding more money (and weight to the quad)
     
  6. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    The lag on my hero 3+ black is the same as my fc40 camera.
    I have it connected through an amped sr10000 repeater and I get decent range.
    What amazes me is that the WiFi signal on the gopro app actually reflects the camera, not the repeater, so I know when I about to lose signal.

    Oh, another thing. Once you Lose signal of the fc40 camera, you cant regain it while flying, which is a royal pain, but the gopro you just come back in range and voila.

    You also have complete control of the camera settings during flight with the gopro.

    I will swap the sr10000 antennas with some high gain ones, that should be good enough for me, fly line of sight only.

    I can also see the field of view while tilting the gimbal, so there are no disadvantages with the 3+ black.

    The image quality is quite incredible when it is not compressed to death like the youtube videos we always see. I can see details in houses filmed hundreds of feet away.
     
  7. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    A similar discussion like this went on in the AR Drone forums. It is either software or hardware based (I think its software). Many people bought off the shelf extenders and never saw the signal degrade as they stood next to them.

    However, those of us who used DDWRT on their routers (like me), saw the proper signal strength.

    Can I ask you to do something for me?
    Can you record your phone while its connected to the gopro via your repeater and do some sample "lag tests" ?
    Like, wave your hand in front of the camera a few times and stuff?