Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Sony RX100 II Wifi Extender ?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by juarboleda, Jan 4, 2014.

  1. juarboleda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bogotá Colombia
    I want to install the Sony RX100 II(290grs) in the PV, Sony has an APP to control shutter from Cel devices but the range is only 10Ft, be possible to add range extender to control the camera but more like 1000 ft range? Has anyone tried this? as this repeater http://www.ardrone-flyers.com/forum/vie ... php?t=2224, if the Phantom V camera has wifi extender, is not possible to add one to the sony rx100 II? any advice
     
  2. juarboleda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bogotá Colombia
    Any Advice ? Help
     
  3. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    The Vision isn't really a platform that lends itself to modding - by removing the Vision camera with its FPV and telemetry link you lose most of the functions that make it what it is, and the stock gimbal doesn't lend itself to mounting anything else. You may be better off with a V2 Phantom (non-Vision) and then coming up with a gimbal/mounting solution for that?
     
  4. juarboleda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bogotá Colombia
    Hi Pull Up, realy I need to know if is posible setup a range extender for the Sony RX100II as the range extender in the vision to get 300mts Wifi shutter control over the camera, as it, thanks for comments
     
  5. sangfhas

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Stock wifi extender can make range over 300 m for me.
     
  6. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    You would cause serious interference issues with the vision camera if you attempted to run both cameras at the same time, unless you were shut off the visions wifi all together, then what's the point of having a vision? Anyway you could use any wifi range extender to further the range of any wifi device.
     
  7. juarboleda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bogotá Colombia
    Hi, Ben the idea is put only the Sony RX100II in the PV for best photography and use de WFI to control the camera (Shutter and Zoom) this process can´t work in Pnantom 2 (no vision) cause interference with RX, in the Phantom Vision not because RX is 5.8Mhz this is the point, I sow in youtube guys working witn an extender called Amped SR10000 with ship Drone and Ipod touch, Control an signal video.
     
  8. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    This setup from drone expert may be of interest to you. It's an FPV setup on a phantom v1 using the Sony RX 100

    Inflight Demo showing it mounted and running.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... 8bDmSeMkRc

    Installation video.
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=qSwxQrkDITU

    With the Drone Expert setup you can use the regular Phantom 1 or a Phantom 2 (non vision) as it includes an FPV setup / transmitter and remote shutter. You can view the full specs of the system from the product page here. It's pricey though.

    http://dronexpert.nl/product/dji-phanto ... converter/

    Another option if you want to go on the cheaper side and use the Sony's wifi for control. The new Phantom FC40 is a Phantom 1.1 with a 5.8 transmitter instead of the 2.4ghz. It includes a camera running on 2.4ghz wifi you can simply swap with the Sony. It's also under $600.

    You can use any range extender to exten the wifi range of the Sony camera. Any will do the main difference between extender are their max speed capabilities and how many antennas they use as well as what wireless standards they support such as A B G N or the new AC.
     
  9. juarboleda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bogotá Colombia
    This setup from drone expert may be of interest to you. It's an FPV setup on a phantom v1 using the Sony RX 100

    Inflight Demo showing it mounted and running.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... 8bDmSeMkRc

    Installation video.
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=qSwxQrkDITU

    With the Drone Expert setup you can use the regular Phantom 1 or a Phantom 2 (non vision) as it includes an FPV setup / transmitter and remote shutter. You can view the full specs of the system from the product page here. It's pricey though.

    http://dronexpert.nl/product/dji-phanto ... converter/

    Another option if you want to go on the cheaper side and use the Sony's wifi for control. The new Phantom FC40 is a Phantom 1.1 with a 5.8 transmitter instead of the 2.4ghz. It includes a camera running on 2.4ghz wifi you can simply swap with the Sony. It's also under $600.

    You can use any range extender to exten the wifi range of the Sony camera. Any will do the main difference between extender are their max speed capabilities and how many antennas they use as well as what wireless standards they support such as A B G N or the new AC.[/quote]

    Hi Ben thanks for your comments, The Dronexpert setup is not an option for my, I Have the Phantom Vision TX and RX 5.8 Mhz, Video Signal in Droneexpert and others is 5.8 mhz, and I want to control the view and shutter from my Phone or ipad with the Sony APP.
     
  10. durack7

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi was this resolved? Has anyone had success getting sony rx100 2 wifi to work at distance?
     
  11. Droner_Aus

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    We tried this method with a high quality range extender, however still couldn't get a usable distance. However we now have our RX100ii set up nicely. Check out our set up at viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32521
     
  12. MonsieurAnon

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I'm not sure, but one of my customers is now selling a method to at least control the shutter with the 7th channel; http://droner-systems.myshopify.com

    [youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_9xwHbNOB4[/youtube]

    I had a similar thought to this thread previously, and went to some lengths to try and find the antenna inside my Samsung NX-1100. Unfortunately, I couldn't find it, because I had difficulty disassembling the camera. If someone else was braver, maybe they could do the same with the RX-100?
     
  13. Droner_Aus

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia