Some Observations about Phantom 2

Reaction score
I've been flying a Phantom 2 with 2D gimbal and Hero 3 for about 1-1/2 years now. I've upgraded it with video downlink and Black Pearl monitor, iOSD, and have added copper foil shielding to the GPS antenna. All-in-all, I am very impressed with the system for the price. As somebody commented (I forget where), ten years ago some of the technology involved was probably a "state secret." :)

Putting aside the fact that the design and construction of the P2 is "consumer grade" (you'd never put it in a "real aircraft), I think it's amazing. If anything, I have but one criticism that I wish DJI would address.

It's the flight battery system.

1. First, it's in the user manual's discussion about the "care and feeding" of the batteries. I think that it's utterly insufficient. In hindsight, it's mostly there in the manual, but it's not worded very well. It's not very complete. It's not emphasized. And there are some important, glaring omissions. If the "care and feeding" of these batteries is so important, then emphasize it and make it clear in the manual. If you give me the information, I'd be glad to write it in good English so you don't have to translate it from the Chinese.

2. If it's so important to store these batteries in a partially charged state, then DJI should provide (or at least offer for sale) a charger/discharger. It's not sufficient to hint at things in the manual. Nor is it satisfactory to expect users to come back home with all their batteries discharged from flying, or to expect the user to discharge them properly by tethering the bird (or flying in the driveway) and running the motors.