Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Some advice before 1st flight this weekend?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Hilon, Sep 9, 2016.

  1. Hilon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hi.

    Just need some advice. I use an IPAD mini 2 with no celular link. When at home and experimenting (without flying), the IPAD is connected to my WiFI and loads up the area (map) where I live and points out - my home and an arrow over my house, where it will return-to-home, if I flew from there.

    However, I can't cache any maps as I don't know where I will be flying in the future

    If I go to some remote location and setup and turn on, I obviously won't have any maps available at all BUT the position of where I am WILL be displayed on the IPAD in spite of having no map in the background. These co-ordinates that the Phantom finds are sent to my IPAD.

    Question: Even though I don't have a map displayed because I cannot cache any maps, will the aircraft still know where I am in order to use RETURN HOME?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,056
    Likes Received:
    5,611
    Location:
    US
    Yes. It uses the GPS receiver on the Phantom to find its way back to the home point.
     
  3. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,231
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    And should you ever lose a GPS signal 1st try to increase the aircrafts altitude. If it doesn't restore the signal then you need to switch to Amode on the R/C and land asap if you're not in line of sight.

    (Edit: I changed my original response as msinger posted just seconds before me and they were similar.)
     
    #3 flyNfrank, Sep 9, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2016
  4. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,537
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Hi @Hilon. Good luck on your first flight!

    Click here for some tips that I like to share with new pilots. Maybe you'll see something useful.

    Cheers!
     
    JoBe, iflyhelis and alokbhargava like this.
  5. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Your main worry seems to be that you won't have maps on your iPad at the flight site. Let's solve that issue first. Create a hot spot on your iPhone and connect your iPad to it at site and get the maps. This will eliminate your worries.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  6. Neon Euc

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    199
    I second that too.... If you lose connection on the screen chances are you can still control the drone. Increase the altitude and also press the RTH function on the controller as soon as possible. Before you set off make sure you have the altitude set at a good height for return to home just so it won't crash Into anything

    Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Hilon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Cheers .. thanks a lot. Much obliged.
     
  8. Hilon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK

    Thanks a lot for the link. Appreciated.
     
  9. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,231
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    NEVER select RTH if you lose GPS Signal!
     
    cfd701 likes this.
  10. Hilon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Good idea .... thank you
     
  11. Hilon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK

    Cheers, thank you.
     
  12. Neon Euc

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    199
    How come ? Its what I always do.... Then I leave the controller alone... Then I get picture back and control it from there. Works so far for me :)

    Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,056
    Likes Received:
    5,611
    Location:
    US
    If RTH is initiated and your Phantom is not able to use the GPS data, it'll auto land at its current location (if you're using the default settings in DJI GO).
     
  14. Neon Euc

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    199
  15. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
    Make sure its not too windy when you go out and the RTH height is set higher than any trees nearby- !
     
  16. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,231
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    What happens if has a compass error and RTH is initiated and the pilot has the default settings in the GO app set to return to home?
     
  17. Alan Russel

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi..good luck on your first flight..i recommend don't fly over water.
     
  18. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,056
    Likes Received:
    5,611
    Location:
    US
    Or maybe a better question -- why did the pilot take off with a compass error in the first place?
     
    captainmilehigh likes this.
  19. Neon Euc

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    199
    To be honest a similar thing happened to me once. GPS safe to fly was on so I took off...30 seconds later compass error came up... Thankfully it corrected itself tho within 10 seconds.... Heart was beating there when it happened lol

    Sent from my Power using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  20. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,231
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    In this instance there was no signs of an error 3.5mins into the flight. Please provide your best solution-

    At 3.5mins into the flight an error pops up on monitor. Two of the words say something about "Compass Error". At the very same moment the aircraft cocks sideways and is flying to the right. The pilot has little to almost no control over the aircraft when moving the R/C Sticks. Severe Panic has come over the pilot as he struggles with the lack of control.

    What is this pilots two best options,(or one option if that is all he has)?


    Bonus Video: