Some advice and guidance please on IOC

Reaction score
Firstly let me reiterate that I'm a photographer first and foremost and that, whilst I'm reasonably intelligent and love computing and technology, I'm an absolute R/C novice.

OK, with that said, this is what I would like to do:

A. For stills, I want to fly my Vision (as it comes out of the box) to a position which gives me a view of a subject I couldn't normally obtain, line up the camera, compose the image, and take the shot.

B. For video, on occasion I want to fly to a position, e.g. the tower of a ruined church just across the road from me, and circle the building, keeping the camera pointed at the tower continuously.

I have sorted out (A) for myself - and to quote Frank Spencer, "every day, in every way, I'm getting better and better" :)

However, I am really, really confused about (B) even after hours of research and reading the manual. It seems that the ideal way to do this would be, firstly, for me to fly to the desired point (e.g. my tower) climb above it and hover, then reset the Vision's Home Point. That, I think I can manage. It's the next bit that I'm struggling with because the second thing I seem to need to do is to switch to IOC mode.

It seems that the Vision doesn't have IOC enabled out of the box and that I have to set this up using the Assistant (or is it the R/C Assistant? - see I told you I was confused) and I'm not absolutely sure how to do that without sending everything else FUBAR.

So I suppose it boils down to three questions:

1. Is it possible to switch from 'normal' (i.e. out of the box) flight mode to IOC mode and back again whilst out in the field? And if so then:

2. How do I set up IOC mode to be available on the controller?

3. How do I switch between normal and IOC mode whilst flying?

If anyone has the patience to give me step by step guidance on this, I'd be forever grateful.