Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

[SOLVED] Change all four ESCs?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by MickeM, Jan 26, 2015.

  1. MickeM

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Three were bad, one worked fine.
    Have changed three bad, now all works.
    But before flight I read that there are different versions of the ESCs.
    On the new ESC-package it says 2.0, on the ESCs in these packages it says 2.1 and the one left (the one working) on the Phantom, there is no version-number on this area.

    Quaestion: Should I change No 4 too? Is there a difference in behavior?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,863
    Likes Received:
    5,557
    Location:
    US
    "2.1" should show on the ESC if that's what it is. If it was my Phantom, I'd use the same version ESC just to be safe.

    If you need to purchase another, they are available on Amazon with free shipping.
     
    #2 msinger, Jan 26, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2015
  3. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,212
    Likes Received:
    910
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Re: Change all four ESCs?

    Yeah an you know what is really bad, he could easily call 5 different places with the same question and get 5 different answers.

    The ESC/Motor combo has been a touch and go subject now for the 5-6 weeks. This is one area you do not want to mix & match parts. msinger is correct in that you should use what you had in there. But if it's a V3 then you no doubt need the v2.1 ESC's.
     
  4. MickeM

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Change all four ESCs?

    There was a little note in the package. =)

    There are two motors: 2212/???kV and the 2312/960kV.
    The Phantom I changed ESCs on ofcourse have Tarot 2214/920...

    It says 2.1 on all four new ESCs (2.0 on their boxes/packages).

    2212 works with original ESC and ESC 2.0.
    2312 works only with ESC 2.0.
    (2312 dont work on the old ESC)

    There are another printed text on the ESCs:
    WM 301 BLDC V2 CA 1442 (Two from the new batch)
    WM 301 BLDC V2 CA 1433 (One from the new batch)
    WM 301 BLDC V2 CA 1425 (The old)

    So... it should work as it is now? ;-)
    But you suggest anyway that I should change the No four also, just in case... ;-)

    The ESC in the link is a 2.0, that is older than the 2.1's I got.

    V3 of what? P2V+? Which versions is there? And which version do I have? How do I see?
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,863
    Likes Received:
    5,557
    Location:
    US
  6. MickeM

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Change all four ESCs?

    Ok... its not a V3. I guess.. not crystal clear... some seems the same, other no...
     
  7. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Re: Change all four ESCs?


    dang most of there improvements look almost exactly like a custom one I am building right now. With the extra shielded wires and the ferrite cores even.
     
  8. MickeM

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Change all four ESCs?

    I contacted an danish drone expert... he said "change, all four should be the same version". So.... okay. No problem. It should work regarding to me as is.

    Ferrites... why dont twist all cables?