Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Solid Red - Remote won't Link !!!!

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by scooter339, May 20, 2014.

  1. scooter339

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    Had a crash tore apart the H3-3D. (At least the 3D didn't whine and produced excellent results.)

    So does this mean the Phantom is dead? Needs a new NAZA? What?

    My guess is I'm dead in the water.
     
  2. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Solid red what? If it's the main LEDs then that could signal "invalid battery" - check the battery connectors in the aircraft, particularly the small sprung data pins. Also check the contact points of the battery itself, and check the whole battery for any sign of damage or swelling, etc - probably not safe using it if that's case.

    Or do you mean solid red on the receiver LED where the bind button is?
     
  3. scooter339

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    I've cracked the case a couple of times and never seen any batteries. Better check the manual, I'll check those data pins and whatever else.

    The two red led's I am referring to are the ones under the rotors on the tail side.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  4. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    I meant the main flight battery - I'm guessing you've definitely seen that! Where it connects to the aircraft is where the pins are. Solid red and no props spinning looks like this, from the V2.0 firmware release notes:

    So either the battery took a hit and its circuit is damaged, or the data pins are the issue, or the flight controller itself. If you plug into the Phantom Assistant software it will report on any errors.
     
  5. scooter339

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    I fire up the Phantom it does it's usual checks and flashes yellow, I turn on the controller the led's go solid red.

    I swap out the battery and power cycle, it held yellow momentarily and then went solid red.

    I connect the USB to the Phantom, start software assistant and get the following pop up:

    http://screencast.com/t/Bt568tEQuV

    This is what my view screen looks like:

    http://screencast.com/t/aMQgEfGqpxKx

    Just for fun, this is what my tools screen looks like:

    http://screencast.com/t/Yk3wA9M0eJOo So it would seem the compass and gyroscope are within limits.

    The batteries in the MC are fresh and I tested them too.

    The red light on the flip side of the MC is not lit.

    :?:
     
  6. shartlza

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Looking at your second screen shot, it looks like you Throttle "T" is at -1000 and it should be at "0" with the rest. So it looks like you need to calibrate you RC. Calibrate your remote in the Phantom assist and then calibrate in the RC assist and see if that fixes it.
     
  7. scooter339

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    I am unable to calibrate the RC since I get this pop up: http://screencast.com/t/Bt568tEQuV

    I also don't have the red light on the back of the RC which indicates the RC and the Phantom are linked.

    OMG HELP.
     
  8. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    You wrote earlier that this 'pop-up' appears when you connect the Phantom to the PC (or Mac).

    The Transmitter (Tx) is a separate calibration (and app. or program) when hooking the PC (or Mac) to the Transmitter itself.
    I believe sharlza is referring to this.

    After doing the Tx, THEN go and calibrate the Phantom (MC) using the Tx.
     
  9. scooter339

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    I am confused. Is he Tx in the Phantom?
     
  10. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    OK,

    The transmitter or Tx is what you hold in your hands. This has a separate calibration 'tool' or app. or program.

    The receiver or Rx is inside the Phantom along with other modules such as the IMU which is calibrated using the 'Assistant' software.
     
  11. scooter339

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    Right, Tx = TX = RC = MC.

    So I am unable to use the Tx software assistant to calibrate because I get this message:

    http://screencast.com/t/Bt568tEQuV

    In addition, the red light, not the one on the front, but the red light on the back of the Tx isn't lit.
     
  12. shartlza

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Orange County, CA

    Calibrate in the Phantom Assist. Hook your P2 up to the P2 Assist and go to the "Basic" section. You will see a button to calibrate your RC. Click start and you will swirl both sticks in a circular motion and then let go and make sure all green arrows are on 0 in A,E,T,R and then click finish. After, make sure A,E,T, and R remain at 0. Then you should be able to go into the RC assist and do the same thing. I hope this work. If it doesn't maybe try to re-link you RC/TX with the P2 RX.
     
  13. scooter339

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    That got it. Thanks Shartiza & all.

    I forgot about moving the sticks and releasing. Since the AETR wouldn't move in the view screen, I thought the worst.

    :oops: