Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Solid Green Camera LED

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Gylldoh, Oct 3, 2014.

  1. Gylldoh

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all. Got a question for ya.

    So, my phantom decided it was a better pilot than I was, and took off on its own. Decided a tree was a good spot to be. Long story short, I got it back up and running again but I can't get the camera to work. I have tried rebinding with the wifi transmitter, and unplugging and replugging the connectors to the gimbal with no luck. All I see is a solid green light from the gimbal mount. Which according to the manual is that the camera is on but the wifi is off. rebinding has had no effect. I can pick up the wifi from the transmitter after I hit the reset button but I soon as I rebind with the copter I no longer see the wifi signal.

    Any thoughts? Anyone ever experience something like this? Tips or tricks?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. itchybeard

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    Perhaps the wifi module inside the bird is damaged.
     
  3. Gylldoh

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    could be a good guess. Do you know where it is located? I'd like to give it a visual inspection at least.
     
  4. itchybeard

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    Take the top off the bird. It's located in the central area and it looks like this ....
     

    Attached Files:

  5. The Yeti

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would the wifi still work if the camera is removed?
     
  6. itchybeard

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    No, the camera board has to be connected for the wifi to work.
     
  7. The Yeti

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you for the quick response!
     
  8. Gylldoh

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hmm. Looks like there is a small dent in the top of it, above the white connector on the right. Looks like a little halo. Seems pretty minor but I guess it doesn't take much.

    Can a guy buy a replacement one easily?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. itchybeard

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    Yes, the part number is DJIPVP-03.
     
  10. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Look at this link below to make sure that the cables have not come loose. Sometimes the clipped in cable does not slot the pins back in correctly.
    viewtopic.php?f=27&t=26655

    Use WIFI analyzer from the andriod store and make sure you see the hidden wifi from the phantom and the visible Range Extender. Make you can see both.
    Make sure you are binding the WIFI correctly.
    http://wiki.dji.com/en/index.php/Phanto ... e_Extender

    Then make sure you drop the resolution in the FPV down to the lowest to make sure you dont have the notorious black screen.
     
  11. seaowl

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried WiFi extender full reset and rebinding to a bird?
     
  12. recon1

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine looked the same. There are 2 boards inside and a plastic connector between them. More than likely it broke off of one side of the board.
     
  13. recon1

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't order from us hobby. They sent me the wifi extender instead. Then sent it back and they said they don't even carry that part even though there website said it was in Stock. Still havent received refund week 2