Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

solid blue light on controller - firmware update issue

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Jamsta, Mar 17, 2016.

  1. Jamsta

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    8
    The status light on my controller is solid blue. I have tried updating the controller all three ways. First I tried though the Go app. It downloaded properly but every time I try to install it says it failed. Tried micro sd card through usb - just sits solid blue. Tried connecting to aircraft - still solid blue. Now controller won't connect to aircraft. Assistance needed!
     
    Aungsoelutt likes this.
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Light gets blue during FW update and goes off after it is rebooted manually.
     
  3. Jamsta

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    8
    But the controller is not beeping or anything. It just sits solid blue indefinitely.
     
  4. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yes that's what I noticed too. I didn't expect any error as light was not red.
     
  5. Jamsta

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    8
    Nah - I can tell you this is not normal. It's not beeping, not doing anything. Just a solid blue light. I've let it sit for over an hour. DJI said to do a reset on the controller (c1+c2+video record+camera setting dial and then turn on controller) but that doesn't seem to do anything other than just turn on the controller. At a loss...
     
  6. Meist21

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sounds to me like something happened when the controller was updating. Just like any other electronic device like PCs when you are updating firmwares and they tell you never to turn them off, etc. during an update. I know you didn't do that but something happened. I would say reset it and try the update again but you cant even do that so I am not sure.
     
  7. Jamsta

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    8
    The only time I ever did anything with the remote was when I was convinced something was wrong (original update failed, blue light on solid for 1+ hours, etc). Update: not sure what exactly I did, but the Go app update decided to go through and update the downloaded update, so it appears to be working now. The only thing I did was take out the micro sd card from the usb on the controller and did the reset of the controller (still not convinced that actually took though because I didn't have to re-bind the controller to the aircraft... so I don't think so). Who knows. Seems to be working now and update is 1.7.6 (controller 1.5.80). I do notice, with the new update on the Go app and under 'About,' they only list "version" and "remote controller." I assume "version" is for the aircraft, but 1.6 said specifically "aircraft version."
     
  8. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,537
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    The RC procedure they had you do sets the RC back to the FW update status so that another update attempt could initiate. Sounds like it did initiate the update and this time it worked.

    I was thinking that I would reply back to you with the very same reset procedure until I read further and saw that you did it already.

    Here's the photo that I usually post when someone has this issue:
    Reset_P3_RC.jpg
     
    #8 Oso, Mar 17, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2016
  9. Jamsta

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks - not sure I had enough fingers to hold down all those buttons while trying to turn on the controller!
     
    igor.L likes this.
  10. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,537
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Agreed. It's so ridiculously complicated to do that reset. Its like the designers were playing a drinking game called "lets see how many buttons we can push at one time."

    Then they made that the reset and laughed.
     
    JoBe likes this.
  11. Fabio Esteban

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. I'm new to the inspire. I got my controller stuck while doing an update. It has a solid blue light and nothing happens. No beeping sounds no connection to app or aircraft. I've tried the 4point reset and nothing. Something that is strange is that when I connect the controller with app I only have the phantom 4 option and no inspire. Can someone help please?
     
  12. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    No, no - it's much more complicated. It's called 'lets try and find a button combination that a user WONT accidentally press'. That's harder ('here, hold my beer'). I think they got it right this time. I'd love to see the engineering documents for these things. There must be all sorts of fun little things you could try.
     
    Oso likes this.
  13. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    Have you tried rebinding? On the Phantom, there is a tiny little button on the side that you press after you ask the GO app to relink. I'm sure the Inspire has something similar.
     
  14. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,537
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    FYI that I have been enjoying your posts and your awesome sense of humor.
     
  15. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    Thanks. Expresso helps....