Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Software not installing

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by rodyork, Jan 7, 2015.

  1. rodyork

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone!
    Im Rod, from ...York.
    I have been watching the tutorial vids and downloaded the sticky extra 49 page PDF document to supplement the instruction manual.

    Ok- problem
    downloaded APP & installed- works fine.( can see through lens & manipulate it)
    I have downloaded the software for the RC Phantom RC Assistant Software v1.2 ( latest version)
    & Vision assist Phantom 2 Vision+ Assistant Software v3.6 after charging all batteries ready for flight ( in theory)

    Connected to PC using cable provided- BUT neither the RC or the Phantom connect to the software ( can't move joysticks in screen etc)

    The Phantom powers up fine, as does the RC & range extender...I think im following the correct procedure of turning on the RC, after installing cable and finally connecting to teh PC.
    Have I got the right software please!

    Thank you!
     
  2. huppe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think you didn't install the driver software Rodyork.Try this before installing the software.It's on the same DJI page where you can find the Software.If you see the lights blinking at the bottom you're connected.And I always turn the Vision on,before connect to PC.Start the software and connect to PC
     
  3. ab.riyami

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    That happened to me too, the software doesnt come with the drivers, i downloaded the drivers from DJI website and it worked
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,081
    Likes Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    US
  5. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Don't plug in the drone or TX until the software prompts, if its XP just ignore the found new hardware wizard pop up, if its W7 let it run its course and accept the unsigned warning.
     
  6. Utopia Texas

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brookshire And Galveston, Texas
    I just had the same problem today and the DJI manual sucks when it comes to explaining what to do. They assume all buyers are 20 years old and have been raised on computers and video games. Just try to find a page on the Internet to register your new quad.....good luck! I finally went back to the download list/page and also downloaded the Windows Driver program. There is a driver program for Macs also. Once I had both the driver and assistant program loaded everything connected after plugging in multiple times. It worked when the controller and range extender were powered on and the controller was plugged into my computer by way of the cord and the quad was powered up and sitting near by
     
  7. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Not sure why, the range extender is irrelevant as its not part of the process, and you can update the controller or the quad independently with one or the other turned off.
     
  8. huppe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Turn everythingthing on as you go for a flight and start your sofware.Connecting your Vision to your PC is enough.
    Maybe this video will help also.It's from a very funny German guy.His videos helped me a lot when I started this hobby.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_WpEJgV8SRU
     
  9. rodyork

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you everyone for helping me (a newbie!!).
    - a plethora of suggestions...im sure its pilot error or the PC im running.
    I will take on your advice & reinstall on a new PC tomorrow as well..just to be sure...I bet it's the drivers!...Fingers crossed...and thank you again.

    Im planning to use it in the Sahara on a motorbike trip shortly...its going to be a steep learning curve!
     
  10. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    No, the macs don't have separate drivers.

    BTW Rod, if you're going to use it in dusty conditions, learn to hand launch and hand catch. It's very easy and will save you getting any dust, grit and other crap in the motor bearings. Just sayin' like...
     
  11. rodyork

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Point taken...very good point...let the learning curve begin!
    ...thanks everyone...it was pilot error at the PC...did not install the drivers!...fool me!

    ...any other suggestions...pointers gratefully received...I'm also concerned about charging on the go on a motorbike!
     
  12. dalebb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca.
    I believe that is why we are all here is to help each other.
     
  13. rodyork

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you!...& absolutely!....I'm not from the drone pilot fraternity...I know not of your secret handshakes ;) ...but I offer any bike related help..until I earn my DJI pilot stripes!
    ..I suspect I will initially be asking more than giving initially!
    ..but my fails may be another's success or hazard avoidance!
     
  14. len750

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    14
    I haven't installed the drivers yet. Whoops. But I did install the software to the new V+ version 3 and Rc. Flew it twice so far. What should I do? Re-install everything or just the drivers? Only thing that is not working is big lag from camera to my Droid Note 3.
     
  15. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Have a look here

    viewtopic.php?f=38&t=32984

    I would suggest just installing the driver and update camera software if applicable
     
  16. len750

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    14
    Installed the drivers and now I wish I did not. Now the Phantom's props won't start. It turns on but no flying here. Now that really sucks because it flew before. Any suggestions?