Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Software Assistant Not Recognizing Phantom Vision

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Help' started by JaiSanti, Dec 4, 2014.

  1. JaiSanti

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone,

    Im relatively new to the multiroter realm and have came across several issues since unboxing my Phantom Vision.
    The first and most important issue I have a problem with is having the software assistant recognize my phantom vision.

    Below are a list of things and troubleshoots I have done:


    -Tried multiple usb cables
    -Tried from 3 different pcs
    -unintsalled and reinstalled the software

    Is there a way I can reset my phantom? Could this be a problem straight out the box?

    Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

    Jaimes
     
  2. JaiSanti

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dirkclod. Great thanks. Looks like I skipped that step initially. I installed the driver and now everything is updated. Thanks for your help and look forwarded to learning more around here!
     
  3. flyxrayboy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this exact problem......but I fixed it!

    1-install driver to you computer from the dji website
    2-connect the phantom to the computer via usb and then open the driver program to install driver. When I was installing the driver, I didn't have my phantom hooked up to my computer at first and that's why I was having issues. As soon as I hooked up the phantom and THEN installled the driver.....WALA!
     
  4. kmktm520

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the information. This helped.
     
  5. robertmorrison

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    What windows version do you use? 32 bit or 64 bit. I also have that problem, and still looking for a solution.
     
  6. doug86

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bi-Polar
    What's a "driver"?

    ... a little Mac humor... :lol:
     
  7. sterha

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem. Have tried on both MAC and PC...

    I will try it again tonight with a 3rd machine.
    1. Download and install driver software
    2. Turn on PV2+
    3. Connect USB between PV2+ and PC
    4. Install driver.
    5. Start up Phantom Vision Assistant Software
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,525
    Location:
    US
    Also, it would be worthwhile to try plugging the USB cable directly into your computer -- instead of the USB port on a keyboard, monitor, etc.
     
  9. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Be sure to use a USB cable that has all 4 lines connected. Some cables that come with chargers only have the power lines connected.
     
  10. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    I made a similar mistake when I first did this, I installed (or thought I did) the software before getting the phantom itself to have a look at it, when I did connect the TX unit the software didn't see it, it was only on the 2nd attempt I noticed the software fails to install if the TX is not connected, however once installed and you plug in the phantom itself it auto installs.

    I run XP (still) so not sure how Winblows 7 works with the software.
     
  11. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    A driver is a program that allows your device to communicate and work with 95% of the world.
    Apple only communicate with apple, no drivers needed or available, just faith and fear and if it doesn't work, too bad, only the rest of the world's to blame, right?

    typing this on my imac btw that's still a great piece of electronic furniture. But for any serious stuff and compatibility I use my Intel based PC workstation. :cool:
     
  12. doug86

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bi-Polar
    What exactly are you talking about?? I downloaded all my DJI Software directly from DJI, Apple had nothing to do with it. Most of the software on my Apple computer is third party stuff, and none of that came from Apple either.

    Apple computers happily communicate with all kinds of stuff. If you mean that it has to be written for Apple, that of course is also true for Windows.
     
  13. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    OK, right. Let's drop this discussion.
    Not helping anyone with starting a Mac versus PC thing. If you're happy with whatever choice you made, you have all the right to be so.