Smelly motor - how dangerous was this?

Reaction score
I am very new to this hobby, and totally new to this forum, so please don't hammer me if I say something wrong! :D

I bought a Phantom 3 Pro about a week ago, and I managed to lock one of the propellers today. I landed (with prop guards) in a field, and there was one thin root I hadn't noticed sticking up from the ground. :oops: It locked up one of the motors for maybe five to ten seconds before I could stop them (it felt like a couple of hours, but realistically it was between five and ten seconds). That was enough for that motor to get very hot and it smelled almost like an electrical fire or short circiut. I let it cool for a little while and tested very carefully, and the drone took off normally up to the meter I dared togo and seemed to have the same balance and handling a before. I hovered for a minute or so and landed again. It took 15-20 minutes before it was completely cool again, which I find almost incredible with such a small lump of metal! Turning the motor doesn't feel any different from the three other motors.

But the question is what I should do now. I really don't want to ditch more than 1000 dollars of drone when the motor is so cheap, of course. I was planning to try it out over a sandy beach tomorrow, hovering a meter or so above it and fly back and forth. How long should I be careful before I can say that I only got a scare this time?

If the one motor gets hot there is something wrong. Don't fly. Likely the ESC is toast. Easy enough to replace if you can solder.

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app

Right! It smelled because the ESC circuit board started to burn. That means components are dying. When you order a new ESC get the proper motor which you may have to replace.