Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. thunderbird

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    What happen if smart return is turned off
    Does hitting rth from TX works every time even if lost signal with aircraft

    And how rth works in atti mode? Is it accurate and does it drift away
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,870
    Likes Received:
    5,558
    Location:
    US
    No. But, when the remote controller signal is lost for 3 seconds, RTH is automatically initiated.

    It works exactly like it does in P-mode.
     
  3. thunderbird

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    But that if smart return is enabled right
    If smart return not enabled when p4 lost signal it would not return until we hit rth on TX

    That's what I understand correct me if km wrong please
     
  4. finalfantasyfan

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Phantom will return to home if signal is lost regardless of what you set. Smart return will allow user to control the aircraft during RTH.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. finalfantasyfan

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    RTH can be triggered by initiating from controller and will be triggered automatically if signal is lost regardless of mode. Accuracy depend on GPS signal. In Atti mode, the phantom still gather its own GPS location. However, it won't lock its location and allow user to freely control it.



    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. KykPhantom

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    17
    What do you mean "In Atti mode, the phantom still gather its own GPS location", can you explain it please?
     
  7. Jussaguy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    385
    How could that be without GPS? Is it because it's already cached and on a RTH it's using cached map info?
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,870
    Likes Received:
    5,558
    Location:
    US
    It'll work whether or not that setting is enabled.
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,870
    Likes Received:
    5,558
    Location:
    US
    When flying in ATTI mode, your Phantom still has access to GPS -- and, it'll use it to return home. The only time it cannot use the GPS data is when your Phantom is connected to less than 6 satellites.
     
  10. Jussaguy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    385
    I suppose that makes sense. I guess in the eventuality where you don't have GPS, you would switch to ATTI mode where it would only use the barometer but for some reason, I always had in my head that if you are in ATTI mode, you are essentially leaving GPS mode but what you're saying makes sense. Why would it not use info that is available? Thx.
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,870
    Likes Received:
    5,558
    Location:
    US
    You'd have to ask the DJI engineers to be certain. I think it's because the data is not as reliable though.
     
  12. Jussaguy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    385
    I was asking the question rhetorically as in agreeing with you that it would make sense for the Phantom to use the GPS sats when they are available although I always thought for some reason that it was completely manual in ATTI.
     
  13. finalfantasyfan

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I think ATTI mode takes better video if it is not too windy. It will continue to glide instead of braking when you put the control stick back to neutral which makes video look smooth. Also ATTI mode fly faster. If you initiate RTH and your battery is running low, change it to ATTI mode will make the phantom fly much faster.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. thunderbird

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Rth in p mode is faster as well
    Did a test yesterday rth in p mode coming back at 33 Mph
     
  15. finalfantasyfan

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Also battery will last longer in ATTI mode because it doesn't require adjustment position constantly.