Smallest drone for dedicated camera

Reaction score
sorry, I'm just a beginner to droves. But I would like to get one for photography. I'd really like to use a dedicated camera, such as the Sony RX100v (299g), RX1 (472g) or A7r II. I'm 95% interested in photography, but video.

So what's the smallest drone I can get that would be able to carry these cameras?

A huge bird. Probably a matrix..

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots

But with the rx100 only 300g does it rally take a matrice? Those things are huge. The 600 is almost to the waist level, no?

I'm guessing, with respect, most in this forum (which is "Phantom-pilots" after all) think you may be kidding.

In seriousness, the cameras mentioned might require something quite a bit heftier than any drones generally discussed here. In the case of the A7RII - OMG! - that would require a beast to lift, not only in size but also in bullet proof reliability considering that the camera body alone is about 3000USD; a hexacopter (more than four blades anyway) would be needed in case a prop got damaged, if you want to save the camera. I'm sure there are plenty out there, but they may be pricey machines.

One suggestion would be perhaps putting a request on Craigslist (not kidding here) for someone to build a good heavy lifter for you with great flight control stabilization, GPS, telemetry/video link, and a really good gimbal. Be ready to have to get a 8- to 12-channel programmable transmitter, too. BIG investment overall, but it will be nice aircraft for sure.

Last edited:
I'm guessing, with respect, most in this forum (which is "Phantom-pilots" after all) think you may be kidding.