Slower Rotor/Prop. Normal?

Reaction score
Newbie here with a question for experienced and not so good users.

Chicago is not the windy city. Las Vegas is, and unfortunately is where I live. I just got a Phantom and tried to practice 3 times in the past week, but everyday is a windy day here. I have the Phantom set to GPS while training and seems to work ok. While practicing in a park, I managed to crash a few times. (That little quad is 1 tough mother).

Overall, and considering the wind, the craft seems to be stable and controllable , but hard to tell with wind conditions. I calibrated the IMU and compass and all is fine there.

Now with the concerns/questions:
1) Sometimes, when I start the craft and try to take off, it flips over (With no go pro)
2) I noticed that 1 of the props is slower to start than the others
3) The craft has a hard time staying "put" - Stupid concern, I know. Since it is windy. :)

Are 1 and 2 symptoms normal for the conditions I describe or should I look into a possible rotor damage?

Thanks!

ogmios said:
Now with the concerns/questions:
1) Sometimes, when I start the craft and try to take off, it flips over (With no go pro)
2) I noticed that 1 of the props is slower to start than the others
3) The craft has a hard time staying "put" - Stupid concern, I know. Since it is windy. :)

Are 1 and 2 symptoms normal for the conditions I describe or should I look into a possible rotor damage?

I would be somewhat concerned with these symptoms.
-when it flips, does it seems to flip towards the motor that's slower to start?
-does the slower to start motor get unusually hot?

If either of those occur, you might have a bearing going bad (or a motor having issues).
I experienced similar and at one point my Phantom flew horrendous, to the point i was scared to fly it.
but then I swapped out the motor and it's been good ever since.

as for the wandering, sometimes doing an IMU Advanced Calibration can help with a craft that wanders.

Hi Gizmo,