Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Skip 1.1.9?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Gangapat, May 29, 2015.

  1. Gangapat

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    10
    It's coming today!
    My big question is whether I should just wait for the next firmware update given all the disconnect bugs? I don't mind it disconnecting for the app cuz I've been flying UAVs for a while and I'm a bit of an old school flyer who likes to keep the rig in visual line of site. But these rumours of it disconnecting from the RC really scare me. Should I just wait till 1.2.0? I'll be running this with a Nex7ii.
    Thx
     
  2. WalkaboutSean

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    28
    I flew my P3 with 1.1.9 firmware today, using my Nexus 7 ii, with no problems.
     
  3. caffeinated

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    60
    I flew with 1.1.9. Didn't have a baseline to compare against, but it flew wonderfully. Other than my own ineptitude of course, the phantom itself was great.
     
  4. isopro

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    119
    I noticed on nexus 7 II , i started getting lag spikes when in flight every 3 seconds, if im at home, not flying i don't get any but in flight i do, exactly every 3 seconds the screen lag for .5 sec and come back to normal for 3 sec, do you nexus 7 II guys get that also ?
     
  5. Chris P Duck

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    My P3A arrived on Tuesday and to my surprise already had 1.1.9 on it. So you may not get a choice.
    That said I've had a fair few flights now and have experienced no problems at all.
     
  6. sdharris

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    South West, England
    I've not had any issues with 1.1.9. You get the reports of problems with any update, quadcopter related or not so I wouldn't necessarily skip an update.
     
  7. Gangapat

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    10
    Well it turns out that it shipped with 1.19 so I guess I'll find out!
     
  8. BobUnplugged

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    24
    It is my understanding that you cannot "skip" updates. In other words, you will not be able to install the NEXT update until you update your Phantom with 1.9.
     
  9. ctp

    ctp

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    The only times I have had disconnections are when I don't turn off wifi on my Nexus9. RTH has kicked in twice. The first time I watched it RTH almost to landing and was very happy with the performance. The second time I turned off wifi, cancelled RTH and continued my flight. That was on 1.1.8.

    It's not a P2, don't treat it like one.
     
  10. Skyy

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    38
    No disconnections so far nor other bugs with this new firmware (or older). Also you have the failsafe options (RTH or landing) if you lose RC signal. I recommend RTH with a proper height setting. No need to "skip" a firmware (you will have to install it before the next firmaware anyhow).
     
  11. azzo

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine was shipped with 1.1.5, I upgraded to 1.1.9 directly.
     
  12. bobvumd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    So Cal
    Mine is 1.1.9, using Nexus 7 (2013), DJI Pilot 1.1.0
    No problem whatsoever :)