Since I am new to this Drone thing

I did a lot of practice with a Hubsan X4 because I wanted to fly the Phantom in Attitude mode (and I'm not rich, couldn't afford crashing it early on my flights).

That way you also save the Phantom batteries for more productive flights.

Something like a Blade Nano QX might help you hone your flying skills. Don't expect it to fly like a Phantom though (none of the inexpensive drones do).

My kid can fly my drone. It's that easy. Way easier than the AR Parrot drone I learned on.

Remember this...
DO NOT fly facing yourself! I bet 90% of first timer accidents are because people start filming themselves at the controls, then look up and try to go left and it goes right! Right into a tree!

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

Reactions: Peter Galbavy
Also, learn CSC commands. I did just what I warned about above... It hit a tree and flipped over on the ground and went completely crazy! I ran over to shut it off and couldn't get control over it. Nothing I did stopped the motors.

So I finally managed to yank the matters out! Also doing this to stop it flipping out is a good way to slice your arm open!

Lastly, go slow, take it easy. Don't do what you see on this forum. Do what you know you can manage.

I've had three Phantoms, and after my first wreck I've never wrecked again.

All the above advice is good. The phantom is one of the easiest to fly, and one of the easiest to get over-confident on. Mostly it flies itself using GPS to hold position. The advantage of flying a non-GPS drone for practice is when the phantom loses GPS signal and forces you to fly in atti mode. ("attitude" mode without the stabilization of GPS) where you have to control it's every move. In atti mode it will drift with the wind. So getting comfortable flying a cheaper drone that doesn't hold it's position automatically is always good practice.