Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Simple question about flight range/distance..

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Honey Badger, Aug 13, 2014.

  1. Honey Badger

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently bought a Phantom Vision 2+, so I'm very new to flying. I've made a couple of flights so far. All settings are as they would be right out of the box. 

    I'm wondering if I take off from a spot, then either walk or ride as I fly. Will it basically have unlimited distance as long as I stay near within the stock controller range? Or is it only limited to a certain distance from its initial take off point? 

    Hope my questioning is clear. Thanks for any help!
     
  2. JWarren

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    119
    You could walk, but you would be limited by battery life. I wouldn't suggest trying to drive. Too easy to lose signal unless you were hanging out the passenger window as someone else drove. But no, you are not limited to where you take off in regards to distance.
     
  3. BaldEagle

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    If you are moving (walking or riding in a car) and reset your home point as you move, it seems very likely that you should be able to keep your aircraft aloft so long as you maintain a communicative distance between your RC and your aircraft. But if you do not reset your home point, with GPS, your aircraft will know it is beyond the designated range from home and, I believe, it will attempt to return to home when it reaches that threshhold. I'd love to hear other people's thoughts as well.
     
  4. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL

    Once you exceed your 'max distance' settings for distance or altitude from take-off point/location the a/c will stop and not allow control that attempts to exceed them. It will not return home for that reason alone. Note: These can be set farther than you have battery for so you could just set them to max if you wish.

    Additionally, you can reset the takeoff point in flight if you wish thus 'leap frogging' along and essentially bypassing the max distance setting.
     
  5. Camicus

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1

    I've been filming a bunch from a boat moving at 20mph. So i just went into the assistant and set max horizontal distance to 25,000ft. Problem solved.
     
  6. BaldEagle

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Is there a limit to the max horizontal distance setting?
     
  7. Honey Badger

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    How would I reset the takeoff point during flight?
     
  8. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    From the DJI Wiki page:
    ( http://wiki.dji.com/en/index.php/Phantom_2-Flight )


    "Quickly switching the S2 switch of the remote controller from upper most to lower most positions 3 to 5 times will reset the home point of PHANTOM 2. When the home point is set, you will see a series of rapid green blinks on the LED Flight Indicator. The definition of “home point” is:

    i) The place the PHANTOM 2 returns to when the control signal is lost.
    ii) The home point is used to calculate the horizontal distance between you and the aircraft, the distance will be displayed on the screen if using a wireless video transmission module."
     
  9. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California