Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Sim Card recording limits??? Mine splits video at 14 minutes

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Bahamasboy, Jul 12, 2015.

  1. Bahamasboy

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    I was out at Catalina Island this past week and all of my videos split right at the 14 minute mark. This is a pain when editing as I will have to splice them together. Is there some setting that can be changed so that I can record a full flight without having separate video files?? I've got a 64 GB card which is not nearly full.

    Thanks,
     
  2. ScottyT

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    4GB File size limit on the Fat32 formatted sd card, which is when a new file is started. Nothing you can do about it.
     
    flax likes this.
  3. Bahamasboy

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks Scotty! BOOOOOO!!!!! LOL
     
  4. spskaya

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    It's not a pain to splice two clips together. Bring in your clips and put it on a timeline. Takes seconds.
     
  5. Gunflight

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Its a Micro SD not a SIM card.
     
  6. Synnic

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    You might want to change the thread title to SD card recording limits.
     
  7. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I don't have any files that record over 4Gig to test.
    Try using windows or mac to format the SD card. Instead of Fat32, nominate exFAT. This will allow files over 4Gig.
     
  8. ScottyT

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    The P3 can't read that format unfortunately...already tried it as I found it a tad of pain especially for videos I wanted to use as is, reading straight from the sd card
     
  9. Danderse

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Looks like 4GB limit for a FAT32 format...
     
  10. russiarulez

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    This has always been an issue for me as well. I used to record a bunch using my Contour helmet cam and it would split the videos.
    But yeah it's the limitation of the FAT32 format.
     
  11. ctp

    ctp

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    IIRC FAT32 is limited to 32GB cards. When I format 64GB cards in the P3, they are formatted exFAT.

    I have not attempted a video larger than 4GB, might be a good bench test exercise.
     
    dalebb likes this.
  12. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California
    The 4GB split is about 9:20 when recording 4k@30.
     
  13. ctp

    ctp

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    Ran a bench test for the fun of it since I also wanted to do some conditioning on battery #4.

    I formatted the card in the app (64GB Sandisk Extreme Ultra 80MB/s (Sandisk Pixtor).

    Checked the card in the laptop to verify exFAT format and copy on firmware (double checking camera issue).

    Restarted the P3P with the mSD card. Checked the settings (UHD 30fps (3840x2160))

    Hit record, left it running about 1 hour, 20 minutes until DJI Pilot app crashed.

    Result - 9 files all about 4GB, except the last at 3.2GB. Video's split at roughly 9:20.

    Conclusion - Video's split at 4GB. This is a limitation of the camera firmware. The exFAT file system supports files up to 16EB.

    Other tests:

    Firmware upgrade: Nothing needed upgrading, including the new battery. The P3 may have copied over the full firmware log file since the initial upgrade to 1.2.6. I'm pretty sure there was no upgrade file, but will have to try again to reverify.
     
    #13 ctp, Jul 13, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2015
    Mako79 likes this.
  14. spskaya

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    Pretty sure that the exFAT has nothing to do with the firmware. ExFAT has a 4GB since it is a 64-bit file system.
     
  15. ctp

    ctp

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    Did some more research and exFAT supports files up to 16EB, so the 4GB limitation is definitely written into the camera firmware.
     
  16. spskaya

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    So your telling me that exFAT has the capability to record bigger files than 4GB on another camera if that cameras firmware says that it will allow such files on an exFAT formatted card?
     
  17. SnoozeDoggyDog

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    97
    Just what I was looking for. Mine chopped at 14mins last night, right in the middle of a great asending pan shot :(
     
  18. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
    So I have a Canon point and shoot it is EXFAT and has a 4 GB limit.
     
  19. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Try formatting exFAT on the PC then insert into phantom and redo test.
     
  20. Ezookiel

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    Files split at about the same size on a P2 with a GoPro, and you don't lose any of the footage at all, so I'm sure it will be the same with the P3 camera. It splits the files, but they should go back together seamlessly with whatever software you edit them with. I use Premiere Pro, and it creates completely seamless joins, you'd never know there was a file change - even in the middle of an ascending pan shot.