Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Signal interference with aluminum railing?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Jamsta, Feb 7, 2016.

  1. Jamsta

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    8
    I was wondering if there might me interference when controlling behind an aluminum railing with aluminum ballisters. I haven't tried it yet but was looking to do medium to long range flights from behind or over the top of them.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,890
    Likes Received:
    5,564
    Location:
    US
    All should be fine if you're not flying your Phantom close to the railing.
     
  3. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Depends alot on its shape and construction. Fences will often act like a Faraday cage and attenuate much of the signal. Could the be the case here. If you can get the controller past the railing, you can compare signal quality.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,890
    Likes Received:
    5,564
    Location:
    US
    Flying over top of the railing (one of the options the OP mentioned) would be the way to go. Railing or something else, I don't fly with anything between the RC and Phantom.
     
  5. Jamsta

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    8
    Looking to hand catch/launch over the top of the railing. Msinger, would you think that's too close?
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,890
    Likes Received:
    5,564
    Location:
    US
    Post a photo of said rail and we can discuss :)
     
  7. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,119
    Likes Received:
    1,650
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Agree with ianwood.

    Even it's not a fully Faradays cage, it will definitely attenuate signals.
     
  8. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    I do some of my distance runs from an elevated platform that has an aluminum fence around it... I rest my r/c on the railing. No issues
     
  9. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    I launch and recover sometimes from my elevated back deck(15'.) I have trees near either corner and a wood /plexiglass "fence"(so I can see the lake thru the "fencing"). It is fairly doable but I can't make a mistake going between the trees and over the rail.

    The good thing is I can come high enough to get over the trees and come straight down to the open/unroofed deck AND if I pooch it it only falls 15 ft to my back yard and not 20 stories down to a street.

    Use common sense and be careful, it won't be a recoverable flight event if you pooch it on the way in.
     
  10. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,729
    Likes Received:
    3,448
    Unless you get down on the floor, there's no way that rail is going to get in the way of your signal and if it's aluminium it's not going to caise any compass problems either.
     
  11. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1454912025.770810.jpg
    Surrounded by this in one of my favorite spots.
     
  12. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,922
    Likes Received:
    1,103
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    If it was me, to alleviate the need to hand launch from the small deck, I'd cut a 1/2" plywood board to fit on top of the corner of the railing. Clamp the plywood to the top of the railing and launch from that platform. Then hand catch. Beautiful place you have there.