Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. friar

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hello,
    Still waiting for my P4 to be delivered next week.
    Q: While recording video, in order to take a still photo do I have, to stop video, change over to photo, press shutter button and then change back over to video, press record button, to continue recording video??? or as I am recording video by pressing the photo shutter button it will do all this on its own????
    A: ???,
     
  2. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Unless things have changed recently, you have to switch. Only one or the other at a time.

    You can extract a photo from a video frame in post editing software.
     
    peterepeat69, Artur H and TWP723 like this.
  3. Patrick

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    Albuquerque,NM
    next time i go out flying my P4 ill give it a shot for you.
     
  4. TWP723

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Abingdon, Md.
    I belive you still have to switch the camera from video to photo. Maybe someone that knows for sure will chime in.
     
  5. friar

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Have already done this, also shot photos with the P3S and there is some difference. Still photos are better for printing. P3S sold gone so cannot test it myself, have to wait for the P4 to arrive.
    Thanks anyway.
     
  6. friar

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ergonomics
    Reading the manual on page 9 there is a description of the Remote control. It reminds me of British motorcars where all the switches are randomly thrown in and not working half off the time.
    I don’t like the positioning of the Shutter Button (11) and the Intelligent Flight Pause Button (10).
    I would preferred them the other way round so they correspond with the ones on the left hand side.
    That is
    Near left = Camera video
    Near right = Camera photo
    and
    Far left = Flight mode
    Far right = Flight pause

    Another probably even better arrangement could be for the pause button to change places with the video button so flight controls would all be on the left side and camera on the right.
    As far everything else is concerned I am still waiting delivery of my P4.
     
    Sim597 likes this.
  7. Alpinekiwi

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    You don't have to change over as such, but you have to stop recording. You can't take a photo while videoing.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. Patrick

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    Albuquerque,NM
    was doing some activetrack videos today in 4k and couldn't snap stills while filiming. i seem to remember someone mentioning litchi or another 3rd party app could do it though, anyone know? i don't believe any 3rd party apps work with p4 yet, so its a moot point anyway.
     
  9. Phantom Juice

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    You don't have to switch. I've given it a try already.
     
  10. Patrick

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    Albuquerque,NM
    Wierd , looking into my flight records it didn't capture my photos when i was using active track and recording video in 4K, were you using the same settings?
     
  11. Sim597

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    266
    Really? Autopilot and Litchi aren't working for the P4? That I find crazy, I thought you could even change remotes between a pro/adv and a 4. I'm expecting mine soon and was hoping to get autopilot.
     
  12. Remorhaz

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe when he indicated that you don't have to switch he probably meant you don't have to switch from video mode to still mode (in the DJI app) to use the hardware button on the remote to take a still image.

    However you do have to stop recording video to take a still image. i.e. I've found you can't be recording a video and press the hardware camera still image button and take a still image.
     
  13. Hippie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    I used Autopilot on my P4 today, updated a couple days ago to work with P4.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Sim597 likes this.
  14. Uptowndisco2

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    9
    Litchi works fine on my P4
     
  15. Sim597

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    266
    Hippie, I got confused the other day. I swear I read this but now, not so sure. I thought I had read that I had to download AutoFlightLogic firmware to the bird and the remote? But that isn't the case is it?
    Btw I'm only a beta tester, still new so haven't had the guts to make a flight with it, but just spending a couple hours on the flight school part has been an in depth read I'll tell ya!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  16. Hippie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    I did not download Autopilot to anything but my iPad AIR2. Also have litchi, a little easier to use I think.
     
  17. Sim597

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    266
    No, I was confused AutoFlightLogic stated to make sure we update the DJI firmware


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app