Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Shooting timelapse in RAW

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by emerrow, Nov 17, 2015.

  1. emerrow

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi guys, I've been trying to do some timelapse shooting on my Phantom 3 Proffesional lately and I'm wondering if anyone else has been doing the same? I'm wanting to shoot in RAW to get the best quality but I'm not liking the limitation of 1 photo every 10 seconds via the dji timed photo function.

    Has anyone successfully shot raw format at either 5 or even 3 second intervals, and how? I know that the 3rd party app Autoflight Logic has the ability to shoot continuous photos so I didn't know if there were any other 3rd party apps that may help me achieve this 3 or 5 second goal?

    Thanks!
     
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    You're bottlenecked by the BUS. It can only write so fast, and there isn't enough cache to store RAW images sequentially while the BUS writes to the card. JPG is likely your only hope.
     
    Neary Aerial likes this.
  3. Kevo

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I typically dislike speeding up video to achieve the timelapse effect, but I find it works better than the JPG only mode on the Phantom.
     
  4. Kaehn

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    183
    We recently added a Timer capture mode in Litchi which will allow you to go down as low as 500ms, but there are obviously limits based on hardware. Some of our users have reported being able to take raw photos every 2.Xseconds
     
  5. dimikoza

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    i tried to takes raw images at 2.5s but after 10-15 photos it start telling that failed to take photo.. do you think that the sd overload? i have the lexar 633x.. it came with the quadcopter
     
  6. dimikoza

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Any idea?
     
  7. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    Class 10 cards are faster than the P3 bus. So it's probably an inherent issue with the P3. I've found that 4K footage does reasonably well with time lapse. I'm having more trouble with the P3 staying perfectly still than anything else.
     
    Neary Aerial likes this.
  8. dimikoza

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    I want many many photos for a geological survey so video cant help me.. anyway thank you for the reply
     
  9. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,906
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    If you're doing a STILL time lapse project, I find that using the grid display helps to take each photo manually with reasonable accuracy. Just put one on the cross hairs on a unique spot on the ground, like a fire hydrant, or a light signal, or a tree branch Y, etc. The drone will stay close to same location, but if YOU point the camera and carefully take each photo you may have good results, assuming you're not do a MOVING time lapse project. There's a lot of stabilization post processing to do, but it can look fantastic when done. Here's an example of a Hyperlapse clip that's really interesting. You can listen to how this was done in the DroneVibes podcast #62
     
  10. dimikoza

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you for your reply, but my main idea is to take many photos while i am moving the aircraft..anyway i will try again with the litchi app.
     
  11. DefaultIT

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    74
    Resurrecting an old thread here to see if people are having luck with Litchi for RAW lapses before I plunk the 20 bucks down. Anyone manage something closer to 4 or 5 seconds?

    I've been able to get close to 3s intervals manually (super tedious) so I think the P3 and card I have in it will handle it..but I've seen at least one report that even through Litchi, some of the phantoms are limited at 10s minimum.