Shooting a very tall building...

Reaction score
I studied pretty extensively for my part 107 test and in all of my reading of the outright rules and regulations, online study guides and sample tests, one thing still remains a QUESTION that I have not really found a definitive answer to...

I am photographing a building that is 500 feet tall (AGL) in an area in which Class E ceiling is at 700 ft. AGL. FAA Part 107 regulations state that I can fly 400 feet HIGHER than the building as long as I am within 400 feet from its 'radius' as well. OK. That puts me 200 feet into Class E. So here are the questions...

1. CAN I fly 400 feet over any man made structure as long as the flight is allowable at the surface area on the chart? I do not see how this could every realistically place me into the outer shells of Class B or Class C, but it could easily put me into Class E.

2. If the answer is YES, then the next question is... is that because Class E space somehow conforms to not only AGL altitudes as it relates to the actual GROUND, but also takes structures into account? Ie., the 700 AGL definition STILL EXISTS, but when you are over a tall building, the GROUND LEVEL is measured from the top of the building and NOT the actual ground?

Why do I ask this? Because one of the questions on my Part 107 Exam had, as its correct answer, an altitude that had me 23 feet into Class E space as strictly defined as 700 ft. AGL.

I passed my part 107 and didn't have a question similar to this. My opinion would be to never fly into the Class E airspace (unless there is an emergency). Maybe @Big Al KY can chime in on this one, he knows his 107 stuff really well.

I passed my part 107 and didn't have a question similar to this. My opinion would be to never fly into the Class E airspace (unless there is an emergency)