Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Shaking Camera

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Kenneth Marsola, Jan 11, 2016.

  1. Kenneth Marsola

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    94
    I seem to have an intermittent problem with my Phantom video.

    It does not occur ALL the time, but frequently I get shaky video.
    The shakes seem worse in the first clip of the flight, and seems to almost disappear, in different clips recorded later in the flight.
    This behavior is hit & miss, some days, no shake at all, some days it looks like this short video.
    You can see at the very end, that the Phantom is not even in motion at all, but the shakes are seen
    I have carefully balanced the props, and other flights with the same props, were shake free.
    ANY HELP

     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    Did you remove the gimbal lock and the block of foam behind the gimbal?
     
  3. Kenneth Marsola

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    94
    Did you remove the gimbal lock and the block of foam behind the gimbal?


    Yes, I also removed the 2 drop Pins, and replaced them with (4) loosely secured zip ties.
    The video was good after the replacement, it is just a come & go thing.
     
  4. seek e

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    6
    I had the same problem. Now perfect. I thought it was blade balance problem. It's not. Go to settings. Top left hair the little drone. Advanced settings. Scroll down to the bottom and turn off your vision positioning system. Let me know if that works.
     
  5. Kenneth Marsola

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    94
    VPS is already turned off
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    What firmware and Phantom model? (Firmware 1.5 on the Pro causes jello).
    Try hovering next to you and look at the gimbal. See if it oscillates/wobbles. If you can see it then you need to lower the vertical gains to 85-90.
     
  7. aenbacka

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    6
    I noticed something similar today when flying my Phantom 3 Advanced (clip attached). I do have VPS on, so might try turn it off. Can you too see the shaky effect?