Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced Setup of return to home feature questions

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Metal Guru, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. Metal Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    New P3A owner here-What is the best way to setup the return to home feature? On mine when I push the button it lands within 50 feet of me and I always have to guide it around stuff. Is that normal? What's a good You Tube video to watch and explain to me how to set it up right?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. SnoozeDoggyDog

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    97
    Within 50ft? Oh my. Are you sure you're getting a good set of satellite locks prior to flying? That's the first thing to check ....
     
  3. Ted Pretty

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    It will only fly back to you when it is farther than 20m...inside that distance, it will land wherever the p3 is when you activated the Rth.
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,754
    Likes Received:
    3,466
    An important point to understand is that in RTH you don't have to leave the Phantom to come all the way home and autoland. You can resume control at any point and take over.
    You can see obstacles much better than the P3 can and choose a landing spot better too.
    And you can fly faster than RTH will.
    I use RTH all the time on long flights, to turn the P3 around and accurately aim for home.
    But I always cancel soon after and bring the bird back manually to get it back sooner.
     
  5. Farmer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Northland, New Zealand
    As a matter of interest, are you a ATTI flyer?
    And "accurately aim for home"..have you sussed out that little radar directional thingy bottom left corner?
     
  6. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,754
    Likes Received:
    3,466
    No, I don't use atti and
    Yes, I use the radar display a lot.
    I can easily turn the P3 and aim for home myself if I wanted to.
     
  7. Metal Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the flight settings at the P. Is that correct?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,754
    Likes Received:
    3,466
    P mode is the most used flight mode and is suitable for most flight.
    Unless you enable multiple flight mode in the app, you cannot access the other settings and your Phantom will be in P mode regardless of the position of the switch.
    Here's the relevant section from the manual.
    [​IMG]