Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Setup and fly under 1 Minute!

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by andersonpaac, Jul 17, 2014.

  1. andersonpaac

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois USA
    This is a theoretical discussion. Any of your input will greatly help. I fly in an area where obtaining a Lock at Ground level takes several minutes. To reduce setup time/waiting time would it be a good practice to power on the quad wait for 30s , calibrate the compass (+20s) and then take off straight to about 80-90 feet and (now that satellites are available) , reset Home point as that point and fly?

    What are your thoughts?
     
  2. chriske

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dont calibrate your compass everytime you fly. Only when you fly in a new location + 50 KM from your previous.

    As for me, i power up and instant fly, i dont wait for homelock. After i have enuff sats i fly back to my location and i flip s2 5 times. Now im safe to go as i please
     
  3. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    I am curious to know where your bird would go if you lost control signal before a home position was set. Would it just land right where it is? Or would it try for China?

    Do you ever first test your home position by flying away from where you think it is, then coming back to it with HL, before going away as you please? I always do this.
     
  4. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Last home position ?
     
  5. bergenfelter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine headed east to China and crashed in the neighbors tree and destroyed the camera/gimbal. Now I have my old gopro 1 stuck to the bottom of the bird and no FPV.

    :-(
     
  6. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    As others have said, there's no need to cal the compass every time.

    Do the tin foil mod. It will acquire sats more quickly.
     
  7. chriske

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont start flying away far from where i lift up. I just fly around no futher away then 50-100 meters. I wait till i have enuff sats and come back to where i want to set my homelock with the s2 switch.
     
  8. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    I think this is 99.9% safe. The 0.1% is if your batteries drop out of your controller. lol
     
  9. JWarren

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    119

    Will someone be kind enough to give a link to the tin foil mod thread? Thank you,


    J
     
  10. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    viewtopic.php?f=27&t=19099&hilit=foil

    There is a search facility in the upper corner, BTW... ;)
     
  11. JWarren

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    119
    Thank you!
     
  12. andersonpaac

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois USA
    Does setting HL position exactly above you (with over 6 satellites) mean that the RTH altitude will also be increased with the same offset?
     
  13. andersonpaac

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois USA
    Any reason not to? I understand that it's extra work , but any reason why it'd be a bad idea?