Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Setting up missions to fly elsewhere

Discussion in 'DJI Ground Station' started by Suwaneeguy, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. Suwaneeguy

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    22
    I have a nice flying field to use to far from my home to connect to and be online.
    And there is no wifi service at all there.
    So can I set up a mission at that location while at home and online?
    I'm assuming I can and then I should have the maps available without a connection.
    Is that assumption correct?
    We shall soon find out.
     
  2. GearLoose

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    I haven't been successful at setting up a complete mission for a remote location. I've only had success in caching the satellite view of the remote site on my iPad -- and once I get to the place where I intend to fly, I set up the mission there. Perhaps others have had more success?
     
  3. Chriserl

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very much similar. If you know the flying area well then You can save a flight path from home but I find it's better to cache the maps and setup after seeing the area you wish to fly. I have setup grids at home with both the PC and iPad and then recall and fly them without issue in areas I know well
     
  4. Timsytanker

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds England
    I do the same as GearLoose with either laptop or IPad.
     
  5. RipperFox

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Buy a Dodge, Mobile Hot Spot. $10/day 1 day at a time. And everybody gets to play. LOL
     
  6. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    my Ipad has cellular so that certainly helps when I am at the field.

    However, I have been able to set up flights at home on the ipad and then go to the field and fly them. You just need to save your waypoints as a favorite and then recall them in the field.... you can even adjust them once you get there if you find that you want to.
     
  7. richparry

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I don't have GS, but are you saying that to setup a mission, you MUST have Internet access at the flying site and you CANNOT setup a mission prior to getting to the location?

    These are show stoppers for me, I often fly in remote location, far from civilization. Very disappointing if my comments about GS are true.