Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Setting height limit...

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by mikeisi, Mar 17, 2016.

  1. mikeisi

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a question. I've never set my height limit to a low altitude. My question is if I do set it to a limit of 400 feet, what happens when I try to go above that? Will the phantom just lock in the air? Will it behave strange...any LED signals? Or will it just simply stop and act normal?

    thanks.
    -Michael
     
  2. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Mine wouldn't ascend higher than 393 ft and the warning screen appeared.

    I saw nothing abnormal.
     
  3. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    it will tell you limit reached and that's as for as it will go unless you change it
     
  4. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    There is a disclaimer you would have to agree to if you wanted go above 400 feet in the P2 software but it isn't advisable to do so. Keep in mind it takes longer to descend then to ascend.
     
  5. billlyyy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    i own a p3a so it uses the dji go app.
    now with the phantom 2 how do you control your settings?
    can you go above the 500m with phantom 2? as of today....? just wondering
     
  6. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    In the P2 assistant software you can only go above 120m if you ok a disclaimer.
     
  7. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Here's the disclaimer or agreement I was referring to and was added to firmware v3.6 and above.

    disclaimer.jpg
     
  8. billlyyy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks so what is the max altitude though? on the p2....lol kind of beat around the bush on the answer but interesting warning screen,not simple like the p3a. sooo whats the max altitude on the p2 now a days? is it limited to the 500m? or is it still free to fly as high as your fpv or transmitter will allow?
     
  9. Steven Gunn

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kirkconnel, Dumfriesshire, UK
    It's not limited to 500m - naughty, but I had mine at 560m.