Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Seeing "Disconnected" More Often than Not

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by FlyerFocus, Oct 6, 2016.

  1. FlyerFocus

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    When I start my DJIGO app, more often than not I see "disconnected." I'll kill the app, restart ... "disconnected." I'll re-start the remote ... "disconnected." I'll power down the Phantom, restart ... "disconnected" ... I'll perform various combinations of shutdown/restarts and eventually I connect. Sometimes I get it on the first try but usually it takes a few tries and there's not set startup order I've been able to determine gives me better success than another one does.

    So, I don't think this is normal.

    Does anyone else experience this? Anyone know how to fix?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,525
    Location:
    US
    I find this startup sequence works best for me:
    • Turn on the remote controller
    • Turn on the Phantom
    • Wait 30 seconds
    • Start DJI GO
     
    FlyerFocus and Kima kim like this.
  3. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    Check your firmware version also. Is there a "+" like 1.6.004+ after the ac version? Give us the versions for everything on the list at the bottom of the about section of the go-app. Also it has been caused by a bad sd card before, more than once... The + represents a modified version, which usually means that the battery has a different fw version then is installed on the ac. If you see the + then I would put the update that you are using back onto a different sd card, then install it and let the battery update. Then let us know if that fixed it.
     
  4. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,032
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I suspect you have a bad cable or bad USB port.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    sonof40 and Kima kim like this.
  5. Kima kim

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    6
    It would be wise to try out msinger's suggestion...otherwise alokbhargava may be right.
     
  6. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,209
    Likes Received:
    906
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    You have a issue, yes...but what is the root of the issue? Regardless what the answer is to that question, let this cross your mind each you are preparing to update the firmware. A fact on this is, there is not one day that goes by that someone doesn't post about a issue when it comes to firmware version 1.9.6.

    It is very wise to give any firmware updating a minimum of 10-14 days before even considering to update.
     
    #6 flyNfrank, Oct 7, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2016
    Reed L likes this.
  7. DefaultIT

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    74
    ^ Indeed possible. Pull the cable and reconnect it without restarting the app next time it happens. If it connects, then try a new cable.
     
  8. Dacon Productions

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    268
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    DJI GO app 3.0.0? I have the same problem now and never had any problems before.
     
  9. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
    Same - here i just pull the cable and reconnect it without restarting the app works every time,and continues perfectly after doing this, Its just a lead thing.
     
  10. FlyerFocus

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Thanks for the suggestions on the cable. Yeah--that was my first "go to." Multiple cables tried. Symptoms are the same. I'm not home right now but I will post the firmware versions when I get there. Thanks for all the input, everyone.
     
  11. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    Check to see what's disconnected... If you are seeing the map, compass and everything else, then it's just the camera that's disconnected... You should still be able to start up everything and fly with the camera disconnected. And if this is the problem - then it is a fw update issue that could also be being caused by using a bad sd card for updates... I'm with Frank on not updating and he runs newer fw then I do, hehe. 1.3.002 here.