SECURITY against :Hacking a drone - Worries of theft in flight

Reaction score
Somebody told me there were drones being hacked and stolen while on flight. I want to be sure and implement safety and security against it. I googled this matter and have seen that this is possible making me worried. You Can Hijack Nearly Any Drone Mid-flight Using This Tiny Gadget (this is just one website for example)

I own a PHANTOM 4 and want to protect my investment from this, what do I do? I read some other pages about a VPN, but wanted you guys to give me a hand as I am new to this. I fly in a city with ports and do maintenance to CCTV cameras in 40 meter towers and using it to show customers our labor as a plus, so it is in danger of hackers as the city has its ports inside.

This is a test flight but just in front are the ports we do maintenance.

As a precaution we acquired the Itelite DBS Extender ITE-DBS-MR01.2W MaxxRange 14dBi as we are getting constant messages about interference and now want implement security. Any help would be appreciated.

I don't think the newer DJI products have this problem with this device since the transmission from controller to aircraft is encrypted. That is based on what I have seen on other forums. I would be more worried of a jammed or lost signal. But if RTH is properly setup and you are not flying in sport mode, it should come home to you. I only mention non sport since the obstance avoidance system is turned off.

I don't think the newer DJI products have this problem with this device since the transmission from controller to aircraft is encrypted. That is based on what I have seen on other forums. I would be more worried of a jammed or lost signal. But if RTH is properly setup and you are not flying in sport mode, it should come home to you. I only mention non sport since the obstance avoidance system is turned off.