Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

SD Card Formation

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Siwulam, Feb 1, 2015.

  1. Siwulam

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    Hey guys, just ordered a 64 gig Scandisk micro sd card, and I think it wont be as simple as just plug n play. Don't I need to format it somehow to make it work? Anyone ever buy an SD card like this? Let me know what I need to do once it arrives. Thank you.
     
  2. Narrator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    On the your phone app, go to camera, tap the little settings cog on the right hand side, then on the left side, scroll down the camera settings to the bottom. Format the card there. I do it regularly to free up room. The most I've used off one battery was 1.64GB. I have 3 batteries, so it's easy to use over 4GB in one session.
     
  3. Siwulam

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    okay you're talking about in the vision app right?
     
  4. Narrator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Yes. The one you use to view what the camera sees while you fly.
     
  5. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    DJI says the sd cards have to be 32gb or smaller to work. So you might have to partition it to only have one partition thats 32gb and then format that partition. But I'm not sure if you do have to do that to get it to work if you can partition the other unused space as if its another drive and still be able to use the space or not.
     
  6. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    I hope the one you bought was a class 10.
     
  7. Larry L

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    Let us know if it works as DJI says largest is 32g. That will work. Hopefully partitioning will work too.
     
  8. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    I have seen some claims 64GB does work, but sure I did also see in the manual 32GB maximum.
    It may just be the phantom thinks 64GB is 'impossible' and only uses half of it before declaring it is full.