Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Safe way to unlock FCC mode and set 27db for p3 s and p3 4k. Mac & Pc no soft needed.

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by myevit, Oct 12, 2016.

?
  1. Yes

    50.0%
  2. No

    50.0%
  1. myevit

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    HI guys.

    Problem: i want to extend range on my phantom 3 standart / 4k. My Drone locked in CE mode and won't fly more then 500m.

    Solution: both Drone and RC use linux so we can force it to switch whatever we want. FCC mode extend transmitter power, 27db mod boosting video link channel.

    How it works: unlocking telnet on RC and Drone. Making cron task setting FCC mode & 27db on RC and after sending telnet command to do the same on Drone. (it easy to make cron last on drone too, but I think this way it's safer for drone to initiate home return if it will be out of range and remote controller can't reach it with telnet command)

    How to do that: we need to modify 3 files.

    Remote control.
    Connect to drone wifi. Use ftp to get inside. ip: 192.168.1.1 , user: root , password: Big~9China

    Create file (or copy one from archive you download from here) "root" (name without brackets) in /etc/crontabs . Put this into the root file

    * * * * * { sleep 1;echo "if [ `/usr/sbin/iw reg get | sed -n 1p | cut -c9-10`!=US ]; then /usr/sbin/iw reg set US && iw dev wlan0 set txpower limit 2700; fi" ;sleep 1;} | telnet 192.168.1.2 && if [ `/usr/sbin/iw reg get | sed -n 1p | cut -c9-10`!=US ]; then /usr/sbin/iw reg set US && iw dev wlan0 set txpower limit 2700; fi

    Save it and check that file permissions set to 775

    Edit file (or replace from archive you get from here) djiled.sh in /sbin/ so it looks like that

    #!/bin/sh

    telnetd -l /bin/ash &

    mkdir -p /var/spool/cron
    ln -s /var/spool/cron/crontabs /etc/crontabs
    /usr/sbin/crond

    while [ 1 ]
    do
    echo 1 > /sys/devices/platform/leds-gpio/leds/tp-link:green:system/brightness
    sleep 1
    echo 0 > /sys/devices/platform/leds-gpio/leds/tp-link:green:system/brightness
    sleep 1
    done


    Save it and check that file permissions set to 775
    Remote Control - done

    Drone.
    Use ftp to get inside drone. ip: 192.168.1.2 , user: root , password: Big~9China

    Edit file (or replace from archive you get from here) djiled.sh in /sbin/ so it looks like that

    #!/bin/sh

    telnetd -l /bin/ash &


    while [ 1 ]
    do
    echo 1 > /sys/devices/platform/leds-gpio/leds/tp-link:green:system/brightness
    sleep 1
    echo 0 > /sys/devices/platform/leds-gpio/leds/tp-link:green:system/brightness
    sleep 1
    done


    Save it and check that file permissions set to 775
    Drone - done

    Restart your RC and Drone and you good to fly.

    Bonus. Now you can use telnet to connect you your RC and Drone.

    All credits goes to this guy https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oivrxYNVM-E
     

    Attached Files:

    Mark The Droner likes this.
  2. Olsen Petrus

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    8
    Paptita already make software to do this mod safely. 1 month using the mod and my drone still works fine

    Sent from my D6503 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Mark The Droner likes this.
  3. myevit

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have mac and it's not working. Also here I know exactly what I'm doing with drone.
     
    cat007 likes this.
  4. cat007

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have a question for you.
    When I connect to 192.168.1.1 I'm locked into a /tmp folder - so I can't get into, or even see, /etc/crontabs
    How come?
     
  5. myevit

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    If you are connected by ftp you should be able to change directory to the /
    What ftp client are you using?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  6. mike.alexander

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Strensall, York, UK
    I assume you have version 1.7.84 or above of the firmware? In this version DJI limited FTP access to /tmp.
     
  7. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    Your thread header is a bit misleading, "no soft needed" think you mean software. But anyway, then you go on and explain how we need to modify 3 files. And that's not software??
     
  8. davetheaviator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    12
    I would like to do this to my drone but that sounds very hard how do I get into ftp ..?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  9. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    Personally I would if you're not comfortable with this method and just use either of the two methods that have been posted on this forum.

    Sent from my HTC 10 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    #9 WilliamM, Nov 10, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2016
  10. davetheaviator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    12
  11. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
  12. solentlife

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    25