S2 switch on the way out?

Reaction score
I've been flying my Phantom for a couple of months, getting some awesome footage and things have been going well, i.e. no crashes or odd behavior and no replacements required. Still on my original props even. Firmware is up-to-date and Assistant isn't popping anything unusual - all clear. My copter is 100% original, apart from a Gimbal guard and a Getterback on its skid.

That said, I've been running into an issue.

When I fly, I tend to generate a new Home Lock on the fly and this has been working well for me since my first flight. However, the past week or so, I need to go through the flicking up and down of the S2 switch procedure more than 10 separate times before the LED lights blink repeatedly and the new Home Lock is actually set. Even when I fly my copter a decent distance away from the current Home Lock, it still won't set a new Home Lock, even after 10+ separate tries. It's now a very hit-or-miss thing.

Setting Course Lock works as consistently as ever, no issues there whatsoever; a few flicks of the switch and the green LED lights start blinking. Course Lock itself also works great. I calibrate the compass every new location and the LEDs do the right thing on this manoeuvre too, no problems here either.

By the way, I've been getting this Home Lock not setting issue in various locations, in 3 different countries. Home Lock does set itself upon engaging the motors, but it just won't set a new Home Lock with the S2 switch.

Any idea what causes this Home Lock reluctance? Could the S2 switch be worn out? It still sounds and feels crisp.

I lost my 1st P2V due to a faulty S1 switch. While in GPS mode, if you barely touched the switch it would advance into ATTI mode but still appear as if it was in the GPS mode. I found this problem after binding that controller to my 1st vPlus. Replacing the switch was nothing, but it still was the reason for an expensive loss.

How'd you lose it from putting it in ATTI mode Frank ??