Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

S1 what have you set?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by IWCoburg, Apr 4, 2015.

  1. IWCoburg

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just wondering what people have set for the programmable position on switch S1?

    Failsafe at first thought, seems like the sensible thing, so you don't have a nasty mishap what you get control back. But I think this assumes you have a degree of control, so why not use home or course lock TT o bring it back?

    Manual, although not the easiest way to fly, does give you direct control in the event of a GPS or gyro issue (aka fly away) so for me, that is my current option, and RTH is left to switching the transmitter off.

    Just wondering what others have set and why.

    Mike.
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    5,699
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I have my S1 set to RTH in bottom cause that's just the way I like it .
    If I had mine in manual there it would most likely hit the ground anyway .
    I do usually use HL to get it back but never have liked cutting the TX off for RTH .
    Just me ;)
     
  3. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    108
    I have mine setup with FAILSAFE instead of MANUAL. When I'm flying and sometimes lose orientation I'll switch to HL and bring it back some so as to regain orientation then continue flying. I've completely shut off the transmitter at least twice now to be absolutely certain in case I've ever lost signal it would RTH.

    First time to go through the entire routine on it's own. Second time to turn TX back on and regain control during RTH. Then twice by switching on S1 to FAILSAFE then interrupting it by going into ATTI to regain control. Finally, switching S1 again and allowing it to perform the entire routine. It is nerve wracking to do but, I've always felt since it was incorporated as a safety measure in the first place, why not be certain it does what it's supposed to do and have peace of mind that it does work.
     
  4. kitari

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Paris, TN
    I have my bottom switch set for manual because I fly in manual quite often, and it's also a fun way to drop altitude fast if you ever need to by letting it nosedive.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  5. edonovanl

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Treasure Island, FL
    Kitari, does the Phantom invert if you let it nose dive, because of the weight distribution? I keep S1 in FS so I can RTH without shutting the transmitter off. Also, if you understand how CL works, you can use it to return home.
     
  6. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    5,699
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Did a fast drop from altitude the other day and just didn't care for it ! ;)
     
    Hughie and kitari like this.
  7. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    I think if you never tried manual you shouldn't set it up. You'll probally crash.
    I know for sure I would , no doubt.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  8. kitari

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Paris, TN
    Nope, you just do a half flip and keep the throttle at half stick or give it a little throttle if you want and it'll come down very fast. I usually do it when I'm up really high and need to come down faster than holding down on the left stick will let me. If it's clear out tomorrow I might even give a demo of the nose dive if you want. Yes it's a little risky if you're not sure about what you're doing, but it's fun if you're a risk taker like I am.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  9. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    Manual
    Call me what ya want I never with ether of my phantoms tried RTH and never will unless it kicks in on its own . ;)
     
  10. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    5,699
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    kenivil.png kitari = evil.jpg
    Dirkclod in manual = me.png
     
    kitari and 750r like this.
  11. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    LOL
    Well if I recall GPS did not help ya few days back :p
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  12. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    When I read this about Manual Mode it sounds the same as the fears once associated by some with Naza Mode.

    Switching to manual from a hover is just like switching to Atti. until you make a move then is coasts.
    A little opposite input and it slows. Get worried switch back to Atti., GPS, whatever.

    Because the Phantoms are a wee bit heavy for the propulsion system it drops when switching but that is easily arrested with a bit of throttle. A proper design would have a hover, or at least something like 'neutral buoyancy', at 50% regardless of mode.

    Respect it but don't fear it.
     
  13. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,643
    Likes Received:
    5,699
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I don't think anything could have helped that ;)
     
  14. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    I know just play'n :D
     
  15. edonovanl

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Treasure Island, FL
     
  16. edonovanl

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Treasure Island, FL
    I purchased a used +v2 without a gimbal/camera to learn how to fly in manual. My first attempt started at about 30 feet, switched to manual and added throttle, but then kinda froze as the Phantom took a very rapid 30 degree dive towards the grass. I came to my senses just in time to switch to GPS and add some throttle and **** if it didn't come to a hover about two feet from the ground! Actually, it was very cool how it recovered from impending doom! Definitely got my heart rate up...
     
  17. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Winds aloft?
    Mine has never moved in such a manner without stick input.
     
  18. edonovanl

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Treasure Island, FL
    No No17RW, it was definitely stick input! I was just caught unawares but now I know better. Someone mentioned that it's like the controls on a plane - to bank your drop a wing and re-center the stick/yoke, and add some throttle to maintain altitude. I had, and held some right stick but responded just in time!

    I can say this, that I won't consider myself a competent flyer until I can fly safely in manual...just my approach to flying...
     
  19. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    It's not for everyone!
     
  20. edonovanl

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Treasure Island, FL
    Truthfully, I have more fun flying courses, like between and around tree trunks in ATTI, than I do getting videos. For me it's about the flying skills, mostly...