Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

S1 switch broken off

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by markusa59mn, Jul 21, 2014.

  1. markusa59mn

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dropped my transmitter last night and the S1 switch (right) broke off.
    I'm a newbie, and still a little vague on the complete function of switches.
    If my P2 is still flashing green and flying normally, I'm okay for the time being, right?

    Thx
     
  2. chuddly

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana,USA
    that would be your GPS/ATTI switch....

    This means you can no longer switch between them which for some people is no big deal. BUT....the larger problem is that you can not calibrate your compass anymore because that switch is what triggers your compass calibration. I would say you need to pick one up. You may be able to (with a little soldering) pick up a micro 3 position switch and put that in its place if the original is not available.
     
  3. markusa59mn

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't find original switch online, sounds like a common part though. There is a used transmitter on ebay for $25... Always something with these little things.. Thanks!
     
  4. BigTulsa

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    If you haven't already, invest in a hook lanyard for the TX. That was one of the first things I got post-purchase.
     
  5. Carey

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also broke mine. I bought a replacement Toggle SPDT On-Off-On at www.rpalactronics.com for about $2. Most electronic stores will have this. The replacement is a little shorter but more robust. Note the color and position of the wires.
     
  6. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
  7. DKDarkness

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
  8. greenapple

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centervill OH
    Did the same thing, but with switch 2. Found a perfect replacement at Jameco.com in stock.
    Part no. 317308. Make sure switch is labeled on-off-on
     
  9. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    You can replace it with any 3 position single pole double threw (spdt) on/off/on switch that you can get that will physically fit in side the tx.

    just be sure to get the wires all on the right spots again. take a picture first. or even take a sharpie and write the colors down next the the spot were the switch goes like b for black r for red o for orange.